Skip to main content

Primary Sources

Library Databases Containing Primary Source Material (requires Fresno State email and password)

The library offers many databases which are accessible to you if you have a Fresno State email and password. Some of these include primary source material. Click on the links below to learn more about each database.

Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876 Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focuses largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.

New York Times 1851-1993 Find full-text PDF articles from this searchable database.

American Periodicals Series Search a selection of periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals.

American History in Video Includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period.

ARTstor Provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. Includes digital images and associated catalog data, tools to make active use of those images.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817- 1994)  Primary historical source materials documenting the political, social and economic development of our nation. The reports are usually from congressional committees dealing with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. The documents include all other papers ordered printed by the House or Senate. Documents cover a wide variety of topics and may include reports of executive departments and independent organizations, reports of special investigations made for Congress, and annual reports of non-governmental organizations. During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, executive-branch materials were also published in the Serial Set.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) Part 1 & 2 Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online was the most ambitious single scholarly digitization project ever undertaken. Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history — The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4 Focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, NCCO comprises a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--in one cross-searchable location. Collections in this database include: British Politics and Society Asia and The West: Cultural Diplomacy and Exchange British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture The Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840

Includes: 

  • NCCO 1 -- British Politics and Society
  • NCCO 2 -- Asia and The West: Cultural Diplomacy and Exchange
  • NCCO 3 -- British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture
  • NCCO 4 -- The Corvey Collection of European Literature, 1790-1840

Artemis Primary Sources Search both the Nineteenth Century and Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO & NCCO above) at once. Artemis provides access to the same content as ECCO and NCCO but with enhanced search functionality.