Skip to main content

Grants, Funding, and Foundation Center Resources

New Foundation Directory Online Launches

The Foundation Directory Online (FDO) released a new version in Fall 2017.  Have questions about using the new platform?  These documents may help.

About the Foundation Center

Please note: Fresno State faculty and staff, contact the Division of Research and Graduate Studies prior to pursuing any external grants.

About the Foundation Center

Established in 1956 and today supported by close to 550 foundations, the Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. Through data, analysis, and training, it connects people who want to change the world to the resources they need to succeed. The Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and, increasingly, global grantmakers and their grants.

Funding Information Network

Henry Madden Library at Fresno State is a member of the Foundation Center's Funding Information Network (FIN).  This is a group of libraries, community foundations, and other nonprofit resource centers that can be found across the U.S. and around the world. Network partners provide a core collection of Foundation Center publications and a variety of supplementary materials and services in areas useful to grantseekers.  To access Foundation Center resources through other FIN members, please search this database: Find Network Locations.

The collection has print resources located in the Reference area on the 1st floor, north wing of the library.

Foundation Center Databases

The Foundation Directory Online Professional  Updated monthly
Information about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. 
Full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news, and job postings.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online  Updated weekly
Information compiled from IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF, foundation web sites, annual reports, printed application guidelines, the philanthropic press, and various other sources.

Foundation Maps  Updated weekly
This state-of-the art visual resource helps people see who is funding what and where worldwide-- and locally-- using interactive maps and charts. Updated weekly, the platform covers more than three million grants made by over 38,000 foundations from 2006- present.

Other Digital Foundation Center Resources

GrantSpace

 A free resource from the Foundation Center, GrantSpace covers a range of critical topics for those seeking grants, funding, or information about the non-profit/fundraising community.

Training: Includes live and recorded webinars, presentations, and eLearning courses on topics ranging from grantwriting to leadership to donor relations.  Note: Not all training resources are free.

Topics: A searchable and browseable collection of articles, sample documents, and impact-measures organized around topics such as Proposal Writing, Fundraising, and Starting a Nonprofit.

Resources: Several collections of resources for nonprofits, including sample documents and the Collaboration Hub.

Foundation Center Blogs
Links to six Foundation Center blogs on topics such as philanthropy, foundation accountability, and nonprofit literature, as well as regional snapshots of philanthropy trends.

Foundation Center Free Online Newsletters
Sign up to receive a variety of free email newsletters of your choice.

Frequently Asked Questions
Answers questions about the Foundation Center, funding research and resources, and nonprofit management.

Foundation Center Resources- Print

These titles are in the Reference Collection, 1st floor North of the Madden Library.  They are for use in the library only.

After the Grant: The Nonprofit's Guide to Good Stewardship: HV41.9.U5 A36 2010

America's Nonprofit Sector: A Primer: HV91 .S23 2012 

Board Member's Book: Making a Difference in Voluntary Organizations: HV97.A3 O33 2003 

The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing: HG177.5.U6 G44 2012

The Foundation Directory: AS911.A2 F65 2011, 2012, and supplements

Foundation Fundamentals: HV41.9.U5 F68  2008

Foundation Grants to Individuals: LB2336 .F599 2011 and 2012

Foundations and Public Policy: Leveraging Philanthropic Dollars, Knowledge, and Networks for Greater Impact: HV97.A3 F65 2009 

The Grantseeker’s Guide to Winning Proposals: HV41.9.U5 G734 2008

Guía para Escribir Propuestas [Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing, Spanish]: HG177.5.U6 G4418  2008

International Grantmaking IV: An Update on U.S. Foundation Trends: HV90 .I58 2008

National Directory of Corporate Giving: HV89 .N26  2011 and 2012

Securing Your Organization's Future: A Complete Guide to Fundraising Strategies: HV41.9.U5 S45 2001 

Social Justice Grantmaking II: An Update on U.S. Foundation Trends: HV41 .S635 2009

The 21st Century Nonprofit: Managing in the Age of Governance: HD62.6 .F57 2009