Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FN 229 - Graduate Seminar: Food and Culture

Fall 2016

Finding Journal Articles

Academic Search Complete
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Web of Science  1990-
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

CINAHL Plus  (1982-    )
Nursing and allied health literature.

CAB Abstracts (1973-     ) 
International coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.

Agricola   (1970-    )
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and book chapters, but include other type of resources.

FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts   (1969-     )  ***one user at a time***
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.
• You can limit your search results to academic journals

Business Source Premier (1922- )
All areas of business, including marketing, in scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
You can limit your search to scholarly journals

ABI/Inform Global [ProQuest]
Business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

More databases & multi-database search options

Medline via Web of Knowledge  (1950-    )
PubMed's Medline database through the Web of Knowledge search interface
• This interface gives easy export to EndNote.

PubMed via the Madden Library (open access search-no login required)
U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
• Includes links to open-access full text articles and other related resources.
• Go to PubMed via Madden Library to get 
    for access to more resources.
  
  Off-campus access to these resources may require login

GoogleScholar through the campus proxy
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

How do I get the article without paying? Is it scholarly/peer reviewed?

If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
      it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.

If you don't know if the article is in a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:

   it links to Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory so you can see if the journal is scholarly/academic and peer-reviewed
   (Ulrich's calls peer-review refereed).

To get  Find It @ Fresno State to work from Google Scholar:

Either go to GoogleScholar through the campus proxy
Or, in Google Scholar:
     1. Click Scholar Settings
     2. Type fresno in the  Library Links box and click <Find Library>
     3. Select CSU Fresno - Find It at Fresno State
     4. Click  Save
  (you might need to click on More to see the Find It @ option in Google Scholar's list of citations)

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
Evidence based medical databases, with protocols, controlled trials, and full-text reviews.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Full text reviews as well as protocols focusing on the effects of health care. The reviews are highly structured and systematic, with evidence included or excluded on the basis of explicit quality criteria, to minimize bias.

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
"Quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist."

NEL Systematic Reviews USDA Nutrition Evidence Library

JAND Supplement
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Volume 115, Issue 5, Supplement, Pages S1-S56 (May 2015)
Think Globally, Practice Locally: Culturally Competent Dietetics
May 2015