Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PLANT 171 - Soils in the Environment

Find Journal Articles

Follow Find It @ FresnoState to locate material cited in these databases

CAB Abstracts (1973-     ) 
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
Limit your search results to academic journals

GeoRef  (1669-  N. America;  1933-   global coverage).
Topics include soil science. Comprehensive geoscience database indexing journal articles, books, government reports, and other sources.

Agricola  (1970-   )
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and book chapters, but include other type of resources.
 • Limit your search results to academic journals

BIOSIS Citation Index /Web of Knowledge  (1926-     )
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

Web of Science  1980-
Multidisciplinary. Citations from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

Databases by Subject

All Databases A-Z

Did You Get Too Much That Does Not Fit Your Need?

Use quotation marks around words you want searched as a phrase
e.g.,  "greenhouse gases"

Use the different search lines to enter more  key words (not sentences) describing the different components of your search topic

In the articles that are good, look for other for terms used in title, abstract, and subjects in that seem to focus on your interest

Did you get very little or too much from your search?

To get more

Use * for alternate word endings
        e.g.,   sustainab* retrieves sustainable, sustainability etc.

Use the different search lines to enter key words (not sentences) describing the different components of your search topic

Use and  between words unless it is a phrase
e.g.,   child* and obesity and nutrition.

Redo your search adding new keywords you find in article abstracts and  terms given to the articles by the database

Use or between synonyms or alternate concepts
        e.g.,    greenhouse gases* or ghg* or carbon dioxide

Use fewer search terms. Each time you put in another search term (unless they are synonyms combined with or) you will get fewer results. Start with a small number of keywords and then add more terms or try different terms based on your results.

 

To get less

Databases usually offer ways to Limit or Refine your search results, such as:
   To Scholarly/Peer-reviewed journals
   By publication date range
   To journal articles only (or books, dissertations, etc)

Some databases also have specific limits, such as:
   Methodology
   Age Groups
   Gender

Add  more search terms: Each time you put in another search term, you will retrieve fewer results. Start with a small number of keywords and then add more terms or try different terms based on your results.