Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures

Browse the Stacks

The library uses the Library of Congress Classification system. Because books are organized by subject, you can use this system to browse the stacks and find books that are similar on the same shelf.

810.3 American fiction by Helder da Rocha

Below are some of the subclasses in the area of Language and Literature (P-PZ) that may help you as you browse the stacks. For the complete Library of Congress Classification Schedule, click here.

PA - Classical Philology (Greek and Latin)
PB - Modern European Languages, Celtic Languages
PC - Romance Languages
PD - Old Germanic and Scandinavian Languages
PE - English Language
PF - Dutch, Flemish, and German Languages
PG - Slavic Languages and Literature
PH - Finno-Ugrian, Basque Languages & Literature
PJ-PL - Oriental Languages
PM - American Indian and Artificial Languages
PN - Literature, Literary History and Collections
PQ - Romance Literature
PR - English Literature
PS - American Literature
PT - German Literature
PZ - Children's Literature

How Call Numbers Work

Here is an example of a call number that you might find on a book:

PR
4034
.P7
1996

1. Books are shelved alphabetically by the first letter or letters (PR)

2. They are then arranged numerically by the number that comes after the letters (4034)

3. Finally, books are shelved alphabetically by the next letter and then decimally by the following number (.P7)

For more information about finding books using the Library of Congress classification system, check out this web page from CSU Northridge.

Bibliographies

A bibliography is a list of citations for books, journal articles and other resources compiled by an expert on a particular subject. They are a great starting point when you want to find out what research has already been done in a particular area.

Bibliographies can be found at the end of a journal or encyclopedia article. They are also sometimes published as entire books. These books are not shelved with the other books on the same subject but are instead shelved separately in the Z call numbers (Z1201-Z8999). You can locate published bibliographies by browsing the stacks in this area or by using the search box on the library's home page using your author or topic combined with the search term bibliography.

Find Books at the Madden Library and in Libraries Around the World

Need a book? Search the links below for the books we have at the Henry Madden Library and in libraries around the world.

eBooks from the Library

The library provides access to many eBooks (books that are available electronically) to Fresno State users through the library catalog. See below for a sample of some of the eBooks available from the library.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism

The Reference Guide to World Literature

To find more eBooks, do a search using the search box on the library's home page. From the results page, click on "ebook" under "Format" in the left column. Click on the link that says "Full Text Online" to connect to the full text. 

Books on the Web

Why aren't all books available for free on the web? 

Most of the books that are currently available for free on the web are in the public domain. A public domain work is a creative work that is not protected by copyright and which may be freely used by everyone. In general, books published prior to 1923 have expired copyright and are in the public domain. Many of these works have been digitized and are available for free in some form on the web.

How do I find books that are available for free?

If you are looking for a particular book and want to find out if it is available for free on the web, try using the search engine Just Free Books. You can also search Google Books to see if the full text of the book is available. Keep in mind that some books you may find on Google Books may only be available to view in "limited preview" or "snippet view."

If you are just browsing and looking for an interesting book or other text, try exploring some of the links below to find the full text of books, poetry and other works.

If you would like to recommend other sites to be included on this list (or any of the other sections of this guide), please let me know in the Comments section at the bottom of this box.