Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern & Classical Languages & Literatures

Printing on Campus

Pay for Print 2.0

The Pay for Print 2.0 service allows Fresno State employees, students and guests to print to public labs from anywhere on-campus, including our wireless network. Click on the link above for more information.

Writing Center

The Fresno State Writing Center is a resource for any student looking for help on any stage of the writing process.

You can enroll in a one-unit Group Tutorial in which you meet for 2 hours a week with two other students and a tutor.

The Writing Center also offers one-on-one Walk-in tutoring, and accepts Online submissions for feedback.

Writing Center Hours & Location Information

Reference Management

Having trouble keeping track of all your references for that research paper you're writing? Need help formatting your paper and bibliography? Try using a reference management tool like the ones below. They each work a little differently, so experiment until you find one that meets your needs.

EndNote
Citation management software package that is commercially available. Fresno State students can download this software for free by logging on at the Campus Help Center for more instructions.

You can also access an EndNote LibGuide created by one of our librarians, Ross LaBaugh, that provides more information about downloading and using EndNote.

Zotero
Zotero is a free, open source extension for the Firefox browser, that enables users to collect, manage, and cite research from all types of sources from the browser.

Help with MLA Style

MLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities.

If you are asked to use MLA format, be sure to consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Publishing scholars and graduate students should also consult the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing.

Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue This site from the Purdue Online Writing Lab offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, annotated bibliographies and the Works Cited page. It also provides information about the writing process, internet literacy, literary analysis and criticism, English as a Second Language, and APA Style.

Another helpful site from Ohio State University Libraries.

New MLA Citation Rules

Several copies of the newest edition of the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers are available for 2-day checkout at the library (click link for call #/location).

With the newest edition, there have been substantial changes made to how users are expected to cite sources. General guidelines for formatting papers and in-text citations will stay the same but the format for Works Cited entries will change. 

Some highlights of the changes include:

  • No more underlining. Independently published works (books, films, periodicals....) should be italicized
  • URLS are no longer required (although they are encouraged if resource cannot easily be found otherwise)
  • Continuous pagination is no longer an issue with scholarly publications
  • Publication Medium--each entry is marked by its medium of publication (Print, Web, Performance, DVD, etc...)
  • New abbreviations (N.p. for no publisher given, n.d. for no date, n. pag. for no pagination, etc...)

For more information and example formats see the Online Writing Lab at Purdue (OWL) page on the MLA 2009 Updates.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Citing periodical publications found in online databases:

  • Start with using the format for citing an article in a print periodical
  • Include page numbers if available
  • If page numbers are not continuous, use the first page number and a plus sign
  • If page numbers are not available, use "n. pag." (without quotes, see ex. below)
  • Conclude the entry with: the title of the database (italicized), medium of publication consulted (Web), date of access (day, month and year)

Example:

Chan, Evans. "Postmodernism and Hong Kong Cinema." Postmodern Culture 10.3 (2000): n. pag. Project Muse. Web. 20 May 2002.

Please see the 2008 MLA Style Manual for the information above and for guidelines for citing other types of publications:

Gibaldi, Joseph, ed. MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2008.