Music 170A -- Music of the Americas: Latin America -- Dr. Donald Henriques

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.

Smithsonian Global Sound includes more than 35,000 tracks in the categories of American folk, blues, bluegrass, old time country, American Indian, world, jazz, spoken word & sounds and children’s music. It includes the published recordings owned by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels.

Currently included are over 269,000 albums with over 3,000,000 tracks, from over 18,000 performers and ensembles. Content includes music from six continents and 37 genres. The database contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Over 66,000 albums (over 912,000 tracks) from over 10,900 performers and ensembles. Content includes new releases of swing, avant-garde jazz, bebop, New Orleans jazz, vocal jazz, big band, and west coast jazz from performers such as Art Pepper, Frank Sinatra, Jabbo Smith, Respect Sextet, Red Norvo Combo, Cullen Offer Quartet, and more

Contains recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

Contains performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Academic Video Online delivers more than 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. The collection represents content from over 800 leading distributors, producers, and filmmakers such as CNN, 60 MINUTES, PBS, BBC, Contemporary Arts Media, and the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Streaming video collection containing videos from multiple subject areas including business, criminal justice, history, and education. The Films on Demand Master Academic Collection contains 10,000+ videos and the Nursing Video Collection contains 800+ videos.

Kanopy provides streaming access to documentaries, independent, and feature films. *Instructors: request access by completing the request form in front of the video, please add a note if needed for multiple semesters*. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, and others. Videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows.