Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EES 201 - Seminar in Geology

FInd Journal Articles (and other Publications Types)

Follow  Find It @ FresnoState to locate material cited in these databases

GeoRef
Comprehensive geoscience database indexing journal articles, books, government reports, and other sources.
Find It @ FresnoState linking does not work well from GeoRef for theses & dissertations, books, and government reports (such as USGS Professional Papers). Search by title in OneSearch-Books & Media for books and reports; use the Theses & Dissertations tab on this guide to search for those titles.

GeoRef In Process
Supplement to GeoRef. Unedited records in the process of being indexed prior to integration GeoRef. Some are older, non-English language literature while others are more current records and not yet complete.

Web of Science  1980-
Multidisciplinary. Citations from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

All Databases A-Z

Use * to get alternate word endings:
geolog* for geology, geologic, geological etc

Use " " to search for a phrase

To refine or expand your search:

--Use keywords from article abstracts

--Look at the subject terms or other "controlled terms"

In Web of Science:

--Follow the cited references to find related earlier research

--Follow "cited by" references to find related, more recent research

Madden Library provides access to many of the e-journals in these (primarily publisher-based, a few Open Access) collections
The indexing databases in the preceding sections link to articles in these collections via
Find It @ FresnoState.

To find individual journals, you can search for Journals by Title

ScienceDirect {Partial Journal Package} [Elsevier]

SpringerLink Online (Partial Journal Package)

Annual Reviews

Wiley Online Library Journals

JSTOR Journal Collection Scholarly Journal Archive.
Browse or search full text of journals in the collection.
In Advanced Search, you can focus your search on a discipline or specific journals.

PLoS One Public Library of Science
An interactive open-access journal for the communication of all peer-reviewed scientific and medical research.
   • Advanced Search

American Chemical Society Journals

 

Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links)
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Also includes patents.