Liberal Studies

The Teacher Resource Center (TRC) provides assistance with the identification and location of various K-12 teaching materials and delivers services associated with these materials. The TRC houses a collection of children's and young adult literature as well as hands-on classroom materials.

The TRC is located in the Fresno State Library at the east end of 3rd floor, north wing. It is a public space that is available for use all hours of the Fresno State Library.

K-12 Teachers can sign up to receive a FREE Fresno State Library Card by filling out this form and providing proof of employment.

Fresno State Borrowers card includes:

• Cardholders may borrow items from almost all of the Library’s collections, including its main books stack, the Teacher Resource Center, Music & Media (compact discs and scores), maps and government publications. Up to 30 items may be borrowed at one time.
• The loan period is 30 days. One renewal is allowed.

What you get with your borrowers card:

• A Teacher Resource Center with 50,000 items: picture book and hands-on collections that are fast becoming the largest circulating collections in the Central Valley; 3,500 activity books, extensive fiction and nonfiction collections; 400 big books and state-adopted textbooks.
• An online catalog at www.library.fresnostate.edu that allows you to search for material.
• More than 1 million books in the main stacks collection.
• A collection of more than 150,000 maps and atlases.
• A music collection that consists of approximately 22,000 compact discs and 47,000 scores.

Book Lists: Browse our curated book lists.

Picture Books: The TRC offers fiction and nonfiction picture books available for checkout.

Big Books: The TRC offers a selection of big books ideal for classroom story time. 

Young Adult Books: The TRC offers fiction and nonfiction YA books available for checkout.

The TRC has hands-on materials ideal for supplementing classroom lesson plans. See below for examples of materials.

• STEM Kits
• Educational Games
• Puzzles
• Puppets
• Manipulatives
• Models

The TRC is part of the California Department of Education’s Learning Resource Display Center (LRDC) network for Fresno County. This collection is not searchable via OneSearch, instead the LRDC collection inventory is available here.