Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Teacher Resource Center

Teacher Resource Center

Children's Literature

Books written for children and young adults, including nonfiction, picture, folklore, fiction, nursery rhymes, biographies, Spanish language books, and “big” (oversized) books.

The TRC collects the winners and honorable mentions for the following children’s literature awards:

Asian/Pacific Award for Literature – The award, based on literary and artistic merit, promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage.

Beatty – The award is given to a book that is set in California.

Caldecott – The award is based on illustrations and is open to authors of all types of subjects; award winners are generally appropriate for pre-Kindergarten – 3rd grade students.

California Young Reader Medals – Awards are given for four different age groups. Unlike the above awards, children, rather than experts, select these awards. Every year school children from across California read each of the nominees for their particular age group and vote for the book they like best. The books are especially appropriate for reluctant readers.

Coretta Scott King – Awards are given for text and illustrations and are open to African American authors who have created books about the African American experience.

Native American Youth Services Literature Award – Awards are given for text and illustrations presenting Native Americans in the fullness of their humanity in the present and the past.

Newbery – The award is based on text and is open to authors of all types of subjects; award winners are generally appropriate for 3rd – 8th grade students.

Pura Belpre – Awards are given for text and illustrations and are open to Hispanic American authors who have created books about the Hispanic American experience.

Scott O’Dell Award – Scott O’Dell established this award to encourage other writers, particularly new authors, to focus on historical fiction.

Textbooks

Elementary and secondary textbooks, teacher’s editions, resource books, etc.

Most of the TRC’s Kindergarten -12th grade textbooks are teacher’s editions. A teacher’s edition usually includes the corresponding student edition and teaching activities for each lesson in the student edition. At the Kindergarten – 8th grade level, most TRC textbooks have been adopted by the state of California, meaning there is a correlation between their content and the suggested content in Content Standards for California Public Schools. California does not adopt 9th – 12th grade (high school) textbooks. Occasionally the TRC receives textbook donations that include the full array of items made available by textbook publishers. These “textbook kits” include the teacher’s edition and may include manipulatives, videocassettes, audiocassettes, transparencies, assessment tools, suggested homework assignments, etc., all of which are related to material presented in the teacher’s edition.

Curriculum Guides

Publications produced by school districts, state education departments, special curriculum project groups, and education publishers.

Curriculum guides often include objectives, activities, lessons, units, materials lists, and evaluation methods. A guide provides a general overview of what to teach for a certain subject (e.g., health) at a certain grade level (e.g., 4th-6th) in a certain place (e.g., California).

Content Standards for California Public Schools are grade and subject specific listings of the minimum competencies that K-12 California students should be able to demonstrate. Frameworks for California Public Schools, based on Content Standards, provide a curriculum overview, a suggested methodology, and sample lesson plans. Frameworks may also include information covering assessment, evaluation of instructional resources, and cross-curricular instruction.

Bibliographies

Listings of children’s literature, activity books, picture books, pattern books, etc.

A bibliography is a listing of items on a particular topic; it includes all of the information needed to locate the items. Bibliographies save time. For instance, many teachers have students who read far below their present grade level. If a student is in the 6th grade, but is reading at the 3rd grade level, the teacher might like to provide the student with books that have a 6th grade interest level and a 3rd grade reading level. Finding this particular type of book in a library can be very time consuming. Bibliographies, however, such as The Best High/Low Books for Reluctant Readers, make locating the materials less time-consuming.

The TRC contains numerous bibliographies. Some, such as Best Books for Children, are book length and list items the TRC may or may not own. Others, of varying lengths, have been compiled by the TRC and contain listings of items the TRC owns. Some of the locally produced bibliographies are available via the TRC Web page; others are located behind the TRC information desk.

Locally produced bibliographies include Book Activities Index (activities for particular children’s and young adult books), Activity Books (more than 2,500 activity books grouped by subject areas such as math, science, special education, physical education, etc.), and Recent Acquisitions (newly acquired and processed curriculum and juvenile titles).

Media

Manipulatives, audiotapes, audio compact discs, models, games, posters, videocassettes, digital video discs, etc.

The entire collection of more than 200 TRC digital video discs, 500 TRC videocassettes and 300 TRC audio compact discs circulates. They are intended to supplement lesson/units that are being presented in a classroom.  Sample DVD titles include All About Bugs; Dealing with Feelings; Geography of Mexico; Money; and Reading Comprehension. Sample video titles include Mulitplication Rock; Lenses and Mirrors; Art Lesson for Children: Easy Watercolor Techniques; Soup Stories: How Letters Become Words; and How a Car Is Built. Sample audio titles include Teach Me Chinese; Nursery Rhyme Time Songs, Rhymes, and Movement Activities; Can Jumbo Jet Sing the Alphabet; Phonemic Awareness: Songs and Rhymes; and Presidential Campaign Songs, 1789-1996. A total of 15 items may be checked out at one time.

Activity Books

Organized collections of teaching ideas that can be used to create lesson/unit plans.

The TRC has more than 2,500 different activity books covering a wide variety of topics and grade levels. Most of these are organized collections of teaching ideas; a small percentage include worksheets. Some language arts and mathematics activity books include page by page correlations to California standards. Although there are an incalculable number of teaching ideas accessible via the Internet, activity books continue to provide the most efficient access to high quality teaching ideas. Sample titles include Cooking Up U.S. History; Gardening Fun; Teaching Conflict Resolution Through Children’s Literature; Teacher’s Handbook of Children’s Games; File Folder Reading Activities; Seventy-five Picture Prompts for Young Writers; Writing Resource Activities Kit; 12 Take-home Thematic Backpacks; and The Mini-society Workbook.

Miscellaneous

The Phi Delta Kappa Fastback Collection contains approximately 500 overviews of current topics related to education, including an index. It is located in the Curriculum book stacks. Sample titles include How to Create Successful Academic Summer Programs, Interdisciplinary Teams for High Schools, and Peer Tutoring for K-12 Success.

Something About the Author includes facts and photographs of authors and illustrators of children’s and young adult literature. This collection is also available online.

Suggestions for material purchases are welcomed. The primary criteria for purchasing Teacher Resource Center materials is that they directly support the teacher education curriculum at California State University, Fresno.

Contact

June 18 -August 17 2012
Contact Reference on the 1st floor for help finding material on a particular topic
278-2174, or via email or chat

Mike Tillman, TRC Librarian
Mike is away June 18- August 19
(559) 278-2054 (phone)
(559) 278-6952 (fax)
miket@csufresno.edu

Summer 2012 Access

Most TRC materials including children’s literature, textbooks, and activity books, are available all hours the main library is open.

For access to TRC media and other material located in the TRC room, contact the Circulation desk on the 1st floor: 278-2551