Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Diseases

Finding Journal Articles

Follow Find It @ FresnoState to locate material cited in these databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
   • Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) (1937-  )
Good source for articles on nutrition.
 • Refine by Source Type to Academic Journals
    because the databases includes citations to magazines, dissertations, CEUs, other resource types.

Medline  (Clarivate  (1950-    )
PubMed database through the Web of Sciencee search interface

PubMed (open access-no login required)
U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
  • Includes links to open-access full text articles and other related resources.
  • Access PubMed via Madden Library links (like this one) to get  for access to more resources.
   
Off campus access to these resources may require login

BIOSIS Citation Index Clarivate  (1926-       )
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.

CAB Abstracts (1973-     ) 
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
Limit your search results to academic journals

FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts   (1969-     )  ***one user at a time***
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.

All Databases A-Z

Search Tips

Use * for alternate word endings
e.g.,   child* retrieves child, children, childhood,  etc.

 

Use and between words unless it is a phrase

e.g.,   childhood obesity and nutrition.

   breast cancer and diagnosis
   diabetes and women