Industry Codes
When researching specific companies or industries, it’s useful to understand how a company is classified within an industry. Industry classification systems assign standardized codes to businesses, which help governments and organizations collect, organize, and analyze data about economic activity.
In the United States, the primary classification systems are the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) and the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC). Other widely used systems include the Nomenclature of Economic Activities (NACE) in the European Union and the Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS) used internationally for financial and market analysis.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC)
- Business Dynamics Statistics (U.S. Census)
- NAICS & SIC Code Lookup
- Nomenclature of Economic Activities (NACE)
- Global Industry Classification Standard (GICS)
Industry Research Databases
-
ABI/Inform CompleteIndustry reports and news are searchable by industry, NAICS code, company, or keyword.
-
Business Source UltimateIncludes industry profiles, country reports, and profiles of world's 10,000 largest companies with over 3,100 SWOT analyses.
-
IBISWorldDetailed industry market research reports, iExpert summaries, and featured reports on over 1,700 industries.
-
Mergent First ResearchFirst Research provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
-
Mergent IntellectIndustry profiles and news searchable by NAICS/SIC code.
-
Mergent Market AtlasTrial ends June 30, 2025. Mergent Market Atlas offers details on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. Provides quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports. Mergent Market Atlas delivers the same comprehensive suite of financial information used by professionals under LSEG's Refinitiv and FTSE Russell brands.
-
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantageS&P's Industry Surveys offer a comprehensive overview of over 50 of the largest North American and global industries. Each survey is authored by the S&P's equity research analyst who specializes in analyzing companies within that industry.
-
Value Line Investment SurveyLatest reports on approximately 100 industries for investment are available under "Lookup Industry."
Library Books & eBooks
-
-
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (2018)
by
Call Number: Ref f HF5681.R25 A45ISBN: 9780808046608Publication Date: Annually -
Industry norms and key business ratios
by
Call Number: Ref HF5681.R25 I526ISBN: 9781592748068Publication Date: Annually -
Risk Management Association (RMA) Annual Statement Studies
by
Call Number: Ref f HF5681.B2 R6Publication Date: Annually -
Survey of American Industry and Careers
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781587657689Publication Date: 2012 -
RKMA Market Research Handbook Series
by
Call Number: eBooksISBN: 9781577833703This online book series on market research includes titles such as:
- Business-to-Business Marketing
- Consumer Behavior
- Consumer Marketing & Advertising
- Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile
- Entertainment & Leisure Market Research
- Restaurant, Food & Beverage Marketing
- Retail & E-Commerce Market Research
- Sports Marketing
- Travel & Tourism Market Research
- U.S. Cities & Communities
Other Helpful Resources
-
Bizstats.comIndustry ratios
-
globalEDGEOperated by Michigan State University, this site provides state-level international trade data compiled from reliable sources.
-
Research by IndustryU.S. International Trade Administration
-
MarketResearch.comRegistration required; free access to abstracts and tables of contents of over 300,000 reports.
-
US Census: Business and Owner Demographic Characteristics - DataData programs include:
- Annual Business Survey
- Noemployer Statistics by Demographics
- Annual Survey of Entrepreneurs
- Survey of Business Owners and Self-employed Persons
Fresno County Libraries
The Fresno County Libraries offer access to diverse databases and online resources tailored for business research. Discover these resources by using your Fresno County Library Card.