The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles
♦ Multidisciplinary databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate and Web of Science Core Collection.
These index articles in scholarly journals as well as other types of publications.
You can limit your search results to only journal articles.
♦ Discipline-specific databases, such as BIOSIS, PubMed, CABAbstracts, Zoological Record, and SciFinder
take a broad view of the scholarly/professional literature and also index publications types such as
dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
Most of these databases will allow you to limit your results to only journal articles.
♦ Indexes a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.
♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.
♦ Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from the works cited section.
♦ Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item. Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references.
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
♦ Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
♦ Quick Reference Guide
CAB Abstracts [Ebsco]
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
• You can limit your search results to academic journals
Agricola [Ebsco]
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and books, but include other type of resources.
• You can limit your search results to academic journals
BIOSIS Citation Index [Web of Science/Clarivate Analytics]
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
MEDLINE Web of Science/Clarivate Analytics interface to the National Library of Medicine's biomedical literature database
PubMed (this is the Library's link to PubMed)
U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
• Going to PubMed via Fresno State Library gives you access to more resources via 
Zoological Record [Web of Science/Clarivate Analytics]
Zoological and animal science literature, from biochemistry to veterinary medicine.
GeoRef [Ebsco]
Topics include soil science. Comprehensive geoscience database indexing journal articles, books, government reports, and other sources.
NAL SEARCH - National Agricultural Library
All aspects of agriculture and related disciplines, SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC), or limit your search to specific collections.
♦ NAL SEARCH is not linked to what is available via Fresno State Library. If the item isn't Open Access, search for it by title in OneSearch
CAB Abstracts (Ebsco)
International coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of agriculture; animal and veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food and nutrition; leisure and tourism; microbiology and parasitology; and plant sciences.
• You can limit your search results to academic journals
CINAHL Plus (Ebsco)
Nursing and allied health literature.
FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts (Ebsco)
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.
• You can limit your search results to academic journals
MEDLINE Web of Science interface to the National Library of Medicine's biomedical literature database
PubMed (this is the Library's link to PubMed)
U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
• Includes links to open-access full text articles and other related resources.
• Going to PubMed via the Library's links gives you access to more resources via
Education Research Complete
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
• You can limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Agricola (1970- )
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and books, but include other type of resources.
• You can limit your search results to academic journals
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. Includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
Business Source Ultimate [Ebsco]
All areas of business, including marketing, in scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
• You can limit your search to scholarly journals
ABI/Inform Global [ProQuest]
Business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
Agricola (EBSCO)
Material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences.
Citations are primarily to journal articles and books, but include other type of resources.
• Limit your search results to academic journals
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
All areas of business, including marketing, in scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
CAB Abstracts (EBSCO)
International coverage of agriculture and allied life and applied sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
Education Research Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Engineering Village (Compendex Database)
All areas of engineering. Citations to journal articles, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, standards, and more.
FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.
IEEE Xplore
Full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Contains full text documents from IEEE and IET journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, and standards.
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Also includes patents.
If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.
If the Find It @ Fresno State link does not appear, click on the 
double arrow on the end of the last row of the reference entry