University One

The Henry Madden Library has well over a million books and media. It's the largest collection in the San Joaquin Valley.

Find

• Search the Library catalog (by author, title, keyword)
• Write down (or text) the book information and location (e.g. Lower Level  R726.8 .C686 )
• Locate the book on the shelves, and browse around for others related to the topic.
• For books available at other libraries, use our Link+, and Illiad services.

Borrow

• Your Student ID (Bulldog card) is your library card.
• Use the self-check out machines on the first floor, or visit the Circulation Desk
• The Loan Policies vary depending on student status (e.g. grad, undergrad) and material type.

For more detailed instructions about finding books and other media in the HML, click to the Assignment Research Calculator.

Journals (a.k.a. magazines) are a critical resource for all academic libraries. The HML subscribes to 60,000 journals. Most are online; the rest in print or microfilm on the 2nd floor.

If you have a subject you want to browse, or a specific journal you want to look at, you could do this online, but it is a bit awkward.  Instead, search for articles within the journals by using our federated search tool, or specific databases.

Federated search (the Big Box)

• From the Library's home page, enter a few keywords (e.g. racism and police) in the Big Box. 
• The results list books and articles on your topic.
• Limit your results by date, subject, scholarly sources and full-text.

​Databases (over 250 of them!)

• From the Library's home page, choose Databases by Subject, or A-Z
• Each database provider (e.g. EBSCO, Proquest, Lexis) has its own look, but they all basically work the same way.
• Whenever possible, limit your results to scholarly and full-text sources.

For contemporary issues and a general exploration of topics, the Library recommends:

Databases

• CQ Researcher.  In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues
• Opposing Viewpoints. Articles, primary sources, statistics and media.
• Academic Search Complete.  All purpose database with articles from over 8,000 journals.

Websites

• Roper Center for Public Opinion.  Survey data of what people think about social issues.
• Gallup.  Opinion poll data on education, politics, healthcare, technology.... nearly everything!
• Pew Research Center .  Reports on topics in the news, social trends and religion.
• Polling Report  trends in American public opinion
• Pew Research  one of the most trusted names in gathering opinions