Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chem 10H - Chemistry and Society

Finding Newspaper Articles

♦ Newspapers contain articles on current and local events and issues, as well as on topics of current interest.
♦ The coverage is often brief and usually at a fairly general level of detail.
♦ Newspapers also include editorial and opinion articles where authors argue their stance on an issue.
♦ Newspaper articles are usually written by reporters for a general audience.
♦ Sources are rarely cited and can be difficult to track down.
♦ Since news articles are usually shallow treatments of a topic and can be biased, they should be used along with more authoritative sources such as scholarly books and articles, and reports and other research-based resources from government agencies and research organizations.

America's News [NewsBank]
Current news content from local, regional, and national sources. Includes newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. America's News includes the Fresno Bee, and other California newspapers, which can be searched separately.

U.S. Newsstream [ProQuest]
Includes over 1,800 U.S. and international newspapers and other news sources, many in full text. Coverage from 1980-present.

Global Newsstream [ProQuest]
Search the most recent global news content – with archives that stretch back into the 1980s – from over 2,800 news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, transcripts, video, and digital-first content.

More news databases