Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CFS 193 - Cooperative Education

Background & News

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports: CRS provides nonpartisan analytical research for Congress.
Links to collections of open access CRS reports
     •  You can also search Google for CRS "congressional research"  <keywords>, e.g.: CRS "congressional research"  "foster care"

MedlinePlus: Health Topics National Library of Medicine
Covers symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 900 diseases, illnesses, health conditions & wellness issues.
MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.

Encyclopedia of Child Behavior and Development 2011

Encyclopedia of Adolescence  2012

International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family. 2003
Also in the Library: 1st floor, Reference  HQ9 .E52 2003

Encyclopedia of Victimology and Crime Prevention
Also in the Library: 1st floor, Reference

Human Behavior in the Social Environment: Theories for Social Work Practice  2012

Handbook of Research on Student Engagement 2012

Encyclopedia of Education. 2003
Also in the Library: 1st floor, Reference LB15 .E47 2003  

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology  2008  2
In the Library: 1st floor, Reference  LB1050.9 .E63 2008

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences  2001
In the Library: 1st floor, Reference H41 .I58 2001 (26 volumes)

ProQuest Newsstand Complete
   • Use * for alternate word endings
          e.g.,  genetic* retrieves genetic, genetics, genetically, etc
   • Use "   " to search for a phrase
          e.g., "climate change" and agricultur*

The Fresno Bee is in Proquest Newsstand Complete from Jan 1995- Jan 13, 2012.
Use the search box or browse specific issues

The Fresno Bee is available via the Fresno County Public Library (1986-   )
Use you FCPL card barcode to log in.

LexisNexis Academic for News Articles
   • Above the search box in Search by Subject or Topic select   All News
   • Below the All News Search box in Advanced Options,
        You can then enter a Date range, a source, or select a source type, article type, and/or location.
   •  Use  !   for alternate word endings
        e.g.,  genetic! retrieves genetic, genetics, genetically, etc

♦ Newspapers contain articles on current and local events and issues, as well as on topics of current interest.
♦ The coverage is often brief and usually at a fairly general level of detail.
♦ Newspapers also include editorial and opinion articles where authors argue their stance on an issue.
♦ Newspaper articles are usually written by reporters for a general audience.
♦ Sources are rarely cited and can be difficult to track down.
♦ Since news articles are usually shallow treatments of a topic and often biased, they should be used along with more authoritative sources such as scholarly books and articles, and reports and other research-based resources from government agencies and research organizations.