Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CFS 193 - Cooperative Education

Find Articles Using Library Databases

1. Use Library Databases

The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles

Academic Search Complete indexes articles in magazines and newspapers as well as articles in scholarly journals.
  It lets you
limit your search results to scholarly journals.

The discipline-specific databases (such as PsycInfo, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Research Complete, and CINAHL) take a broader view of scholarly/professional literature in their disciplines, usually also indexing publications types such as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
These databases will allow you to limit your search results to only scholarly journals.

♦ Web of Science only indexes scholarly journals.

2. Use Google Scholar

♦ Indexes a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.

♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals.

Follow Find It @ FresnoState to locate material cited in these databases

Academic Search Complete
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
• Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

PsycINFO 1887-
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology.
Also covers the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as sociology, education, anthropology, nursing, business and law.
Limit your search results to  Peer-Reviewed Journals
Limit your search results: Under Methodology, select Empirical study
You can also limit to specific Age groups and by Gender

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (1968-   )
Literature in criminology and related disciplines including  journal articles, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing.
• Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Education Research Complete
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

PAIS International (1973-   )
 Indexes books, journals, and some government publications on topics related to public policy.

CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) (1937-  )
Good source for articles on nutrition and health.
• Limit your search results to academic journals
You can also limit to specific Age groups and by Gender

Social Work Abstracts (1965-   )
Indexes articles in social work and human services journals.

Social Services Abstracts (1979-   )
Research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. This database indexes journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.

Sociological Abstracts
 Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

All Databases A-Z

Did you get very little or too much from your search?

To get more

Use the different search lines to enter key words (not sentences) describing the different components of your search topic

Use * for alternate word endings
        e.g.,   child* retrieves child, children, childhood,  etc.

Redo your search adding new keywords you find in article abstracts and  terms given to the articles by the database

Use or between synonyms or alternate concepts
        e.g.,    teenage* or adolescen* or youth

Use fewer search terms. Each time you put in another search term (unless they are synonyms combined with or) you will get fewer results. Start with a small number of keywords and then add more terms or try different terms based on your results.

 

To get less

Databases usually offer ways to Limit or Refine your search results, such as:
   To Scholarly/Peer-reviewed journals
   By publication date range
   To journal articles only (or books, dissertations, etc)

Some databases also have specific limits, such as:
   Methodology,
   Age,
   Gender

Add  more search terms: Each time you put in another search term (unless they are combined with or ), you will retrieve fewer results. Start with a small number of keywords and then add more terms or try different terms based on your results.

GoogleScholar through the campus proxy

USe Google Scholar to find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

How do I get the article without paying? Is it scholarly/peer reviewed?

If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
      it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.

If you don't know if the article is in a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
   it links to Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory so you can see if the journal is scholarly/academic and peer-reviewed
   (Ulrich's calls peer-review refereed).

To get  Find It @ Fresno State to work from Google Scholar:
Either go to GoogleScholar through the campus proxy
Or, in Google Scholar:
     1. Click Scholar Settings
     2. Type fresno in the  Library Links box and click <Find Library>
     3. Select CSU Fresno - Find It at Fresno State
     4. Click  Save
  (you might need to click on More to see the Find It @ option in Google Scholar's list of citations)