The majority of full text newspapers online are found within subscription databases. The library subscribes to the following databases that contain newspaper articles (must log-in with a Fresno State email and password):
Free online resources:
Google News Archive Search results include content from a number of sources, including both partner content digitized by Google through their News Archive Partner Program and online archival materials that they've crawled. Search results can include content that is freely accessible as well as content that requires a fee. Articles related to a single story within a given time period are grouped together to allow users to see a broad perspective on the topics they are searching.(no longer active, but can still search existing content)
Times Machine (New York Times) (limited access) Issues from Volume 1, Number 1 of The New-York Daily Times, on September 18, 1851, through The New York Times of December 30, 1922. Choose a date in history and flip electronically through the pages, displayed with their original look and feel.
California Digital Newspaper Collection The California Digital Newspaper Collection contains over 400,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. It also contains issues of several current California newspapers that are part of a pilot project to preserve and provide access to contemporary papers.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. Produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Historical Newspapers Online (Penn Libraries) Site provides a table which lists historical U.S. newspapers by state which are available online at no cost.
Journalism.net List of newspaper archives around the world.