Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chem 161W - Scientific Writing (online class)

Summer 2019

Indexes to Journal Articles (and Beyond)

Ways to Find Journal Articles
madden library
 

1. Use Library Databases

The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles

♦  Some article databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate, index articles in magazines
    and newspapers as well as articles in scholarly journals,
    but offer ways to l
imit your search results to scholarly journals.

♦   Some databases, such as Web of Science, only index scholarly journals.

  Discipline-specific databases, such as BIOSIS, SciFinder, PubMed, and CAB Abstracts,
     take broader views of scholarly/professional literature  and also index publications types such
     as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and technical reports.

     Most of these databases will allow you to
limit your search results to only scholarly journals.
 

2. Use Google Scholar

Indexes a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.

Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals.
 

3. Use a Known Item 

 Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from the works cited section.

 Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item. Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references.

Academic Search Ultimate
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Web of Science Core Collection
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

Web of Science Databases
May be searched individually or select All Databases from the search form.
Web of Science databases provide cited/citing reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

     BIOSIS Citation Index /Web of Knowledge  (1926-     )
     Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals,
     meetings, patents, and books.

     PubMed (this is the Library's link to PubMed)
     U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE,
      life science journals, and online books.
     • Includes links to open-access full text articles and other related resources.
     • Going to PubMed via Madden Library gives you access to more resources via 

MEDLINE Web of Science interface to the National Library of Medicine's biomedical literature database

SciFinder
The most comprehensive discovery tool for chemistry and related sciences.
Link to the SciFinder tab in this guide
Use this link if you already have a SciFinder account
Use this link if you do not already have a SciFinder account or want search tips.

CAB Abstracts (1973-     ) 
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
Limit your search results to academic journals

 

Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links)

Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.  Also includes patents.

How do I get the article without paying?

If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.
If the Find It @ Fresno State link does not appear, click on the double arrow on the end of the last row of the reference entry

Is it an article or something else?

Note the type of content you can find via Google Scholar.  Re-visit the About Scholarly Articles page of this guide, or the Library's DIY What is this citation for ... ?   if you don't know if it is a citation to a book, article, or book chapter.