LibGuides: Communicative Sciences and Deaf Studies: Journal Articles/Databases

Journals

These are Journals that the library currently has access to in both print and electronic formats (as listed under title). If you have a suggestion for a resource to be added, let us know here.

American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb
Print. The American Annals of the Deaf is a professional journal dedicated to quality in education and related services for deaf or hard of hearing children and adults. First published in 1847, the Annals is the oldest and most widely read English-language journal dealing with deafness and the education of deaf persons. The digital collections contains 30 volumes from 1847 to 1893. There was a title change during volume 31. Volumes 1-31 were published as American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb. Volumes 31-38 are American Annals of the Deaf.
American Annals of the Deaf
Online. The American Annals of the Deaf is a professional journal dedicated to quality in education and related services for deaf or hard of hearing children and adults. First published in 1847, the Annals is the oldest and most widely read English-language journal dealing with deafness and the education of deaf persons. The digital collections contains 30 volumes from 1847 to 1893. There was a title change during volume 31. Volumes 1-31 were published as American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb. Volumes 31-38 are American Annals of the Deaf.
Deafness & Education International
Online. Deafness & Education International is a peer-reviewed journal published quarterly, which provides a forum for teachers and other professionals involved with the education and development of deaf infants, children and young people, and readily welcomes relevant contributions from this area of expertise. Submissions may fall within the areas of linguistics, education, personal-social and cognitive developments of deaf children, spoken language, sign language, deaf culture and traditions, audiological issues, cochlear implants, educational technology and educational l issues that impinge on deaf children and young people.
The Deaf American
Print. The Deaf American magazine was published by the National Association of the Deaf (www.nad.org). No longer in publication.
Journal of Deaf Studies & Deaf Education
Online. Integrates & coordinates basic & applied research relating to individuals who are deaf, including cultural, developmental, linguistic, & educational topics.
Journal of the American Deafness & Rehabilitation Association (JADARA)
Online. Deals with research findings (pragmatic applications), program descriptions and articles on deafness, and the disciplines of rehabilitation, social services, mental health, and other related areas.
Odyssey: New Directions in Deaf Education
Online. Odyssey magazine is an award-winning publication published annually by the Clerc Center. Each issue is theme-based, focusing on topics of importance as they relate to research, philosophy, and application of practice of instruction in the deaf education classroom.
Perspectives in Education and Deafness
Print
Teacher of the Deaf
Print

Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete [EBSCO]
Communication & Mass Media Complete like Communication & Mass Media Index, provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Covers disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
PsycARTICLES
Provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from 1988 to the present. Includes more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
Science Direct
ScienceDirect contains much of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Includes online reference works, handbooks, book series, and over 600 journal titles.
Web of Science
Search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

More Databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (fee-based) Updated monthly, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. There are five versions available: one indexing and abstracting only and four with differing amounts of full text.
Cochrane Library (fee-based) A collection of databases containing evidence-based information to be used in clinical treatment decisions. Available from Wiley.
ComDisDome (fee-based) Updated monthly, ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
ERIC The world's largest source of education information, containing more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Updated weekly. 1966 to date.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (fee-based) Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (fee-based) Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
MEDLINE MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
PsycINFO (fee-based) Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO is the premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences. Available on the APA PsycNET platform, EBSCO, or ProQuest.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus (fee-based) Offering nearly 18,000 titles in the fields of medicine, science, social science, and technology, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. References go back to 1996 and 80% of all Scopus records back to 1823 have an abstract.
SpeechBITE Australian database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice, from eight databases including MEDLINE, ERIC, and Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
Thieme MedOne ComSci (fee-based) A small database of publications in communication science and disorders, designed to be a teaching and learning resource for upper-level undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and practicing professionals in audiology, speech-language pathology, and hearing science.

Please consult ASHA's "Research Databases and Online Tools" page for more information.

Journals and Trade Publications

Online Resources

Evidence-Based Practice, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)
Evidence Maps, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA).

Searchable online tool designed to assist clinicians with making evidence-based decisions

Oral Histories, National Library of Medicine