Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CSM BOND

Finding Scholarly Articles

Ways to Find Journal Articles
madden library


1. Use Library Databases

The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles

♦  Some article databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate, index articles in magazines
   and newspapers as well as articles in scholarly journals across many disciplines,
   but offer ways to limit your search results to scholarly journals.

♦  Other multidisciplinary or discipline-specific databases, such as Web of Science, GreenFile, GeoRef,
    BIOSIS, Education Research Complete, PsychInfo, and SciFinder, take a broader view of scholarly/professional
    literature and also index publications types such as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings,
    and technical reports.
   Most of these databases will allow you to limit your results to only journal articles.

2. Use Google Scholar

♦ Indexes a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.

♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.

3. Use a Known Item 

♦ Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from the Works Cited section.

♦ Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item. Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references.

Follow Find It @ FresnoState to locate the text of articles that don't offer a pdf link
 

Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO]  VIdeo: Introduction to Academic Search Ultimate for CSM-BOND
Index to news, magazines, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
  ♦ Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

GreenFile [EBSCO]
Indexes a variety of publication types, including academic journals, focused on aspects of human impact on the environment.

CAB Abstracts  [EBSCO]
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
Limit your search results to academic journals

CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) [EBSCO].
Includes citations to magazines, dissertations, CEUs, other resource types.
 • Refine by Source Type to Academic Journals

GeoRef  [EBSCO]
Comprehensive geoscience database indexing journal articles, books, government reports, and other sources.

PsycINFO [EBSCO]
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology.
Also covers the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as sociology, education, anthropology, nursing, business and law.
Limit your search results to  Peer-Reviewed Journals
Limit your search results: Under Methodology, select Empirical study
You can also limit to specific Age groups and by Gender

Education Research Complete  [EBSCO]
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

_____________________________________

Web of Science Core Collection
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

BIOSIS Citation Index [Web of Science]
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.

These databases provide cited by/cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
e.g. Climatic consequences of adopting drought tolerant vegetation over Los Angeles as a response to California drought
   Clarivate databases citation paths
______________________________________

All Databases A-Z

Databases by Subject (Discipline)

Sample Database Search in Academic Search Ultimate

Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links)

Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.  Also includes patents.

How do I get the article without paying?

If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.
If the Find It @ Fresno State link does not appear, click on the double arrow on the end of the last row of the reference entry

Is it an article or something else?

Note the type of content you can find via Google Scholar.  Re-visit the About Scholarly Articles page of this guide, or the Library's FAQ What is this citation for ... ?   if you don't know if it is a citation to a book, article, or book chapter.