The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles
♦ Some article databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate, index articles in magazines
and newspapers as well as articles in scholarly journals,
but offer ways to limit your search results to scholarly journals.
♦ Like Academic Search Ultimate, Web of Science is multidisciplinary, but indexes only scholarly sources:
journals as well as books and conference proceedings.
♦ Discipline-specific databases, such as BIOSIS, PubMed, PsychInfo, and SciFinder
take a broader view of scholarly/professional literature and may also index publications types such as
dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, and technical reports.
Most of these databases will allow you to limit your results to only journal articles.
♦ Indexes a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.
♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.
♦ Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from the works cited section.
♦ Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item. Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references.
Web of Science Databases
May be searched individually or select All Databases from the search form.
Web of Science databases provide cited/citing reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
Web of Science Core Collection
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
BIOSIS Citation Index [Web of Science]
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological & medical literature from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
MEDLINE [Web of Science]
Web of Science interface to the National Library of Medicine's biomedical literature database
PubMed (this is the Library's link to PubMed)
U.S. National Library of Medicine database with citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
PsycINFO [EBSCO]
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Education Research Complete [EBSCO]
Citations and abstracts of journal articles, magazines, books, news, conference papers, and trade publications, in all areas of education
♦ Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO]
Index to news, magazines, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
♦ Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
SciFinder
The most comprehensive discovery tool for chemistry and related sciences.
Use this link if you already have a SciFinder account
Use this link if you do not already have a SciFinder account or want search tips.
______________________________________
Databases by Subject (Discipline)
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Also includes patents.
If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.
If the Find It @ Fresno State link does not appear, click on the 
double arrow on the end of the last row of the reference entry
Note the type of content you can find via Google Scholar. Visit the Library's DIY What is this citation for ... ? if you don't know if it is a citation to a book, article, or book chapter.