LibGuides: Fresno State COVID-19 Survival Guide: Managing School & Life

Managing School & Life

Use the tabs above to find help with online learning, finances during the pandemic, and managing stress.

Remote Learning

Moving to remote teaching and learning quickly is a challenge for everyone!

First things first

Be sure you keep up with Fresno State's updates for the latest campus developments.
DISCOVERe is offering iPads and wifi hotspots at no charge to Fresno State students who need them. They can also help with Zoom and other technologies.
If you need Internet access, some companies are offering it for free for limited periods. See our list of Free Resources & Technology for links.
Online tutoring is available for many subjects taught at Fresno State.
The Fresno State Writing Center offers online help with all aspects of writing assignments.
Of course, the Madden Library has online resources and remote help. Ask a Librarian for help with library research via chat or email.

Remote learning

Student Tips for Remote Learning from teachers at Montgomery College and Howard Community College
Adjusting your study habits during COVID handout from the University of Michigan
Tips for Learning during Disruption from Rice University
Learning Online Resources for Students from MERLOT
Online Student Readiness Tutorials from California Community Colleges
Learning to Learn Online textbook from LibreTexts

Remote teaching

Working with Student Parents during COVID-19 from Dr. Larissa M. Mercado-Lopez, Fresno State Women’s Studies department
Coping With Coronavirus, a collection of articles for faculty from the Chronicle of Higher Education
Online Resources for Science Laboratories, a crowdsourced collection of simulations, virtual labs, and other resources.
A Guide to Hosting Virtual Events with Zoom
How to Prevent Zoom-Bombing from PC Magazine
COVID-19 Open Education Community Contributed Resources
Links to many more resources for students and teachers.

Support During the Pandemic

The COVID-19 pandemic and California's "Stay Home" order are changing life for everyone. Help may be available from these resources:

OnwardCA
Try the "Quick Match" to find many resources for food, housing, childcare, job listings, and retraining opportunities.

Food

The Fresno State Student Cupboard is still open.
Central California Food Bank lists food distribution locations throughout the Valley.
You may be eligible for assistance through CalFresh.
A Google map of where to find free food. Each of these locations offer free meals (mainly to families with children).
Fresno DSA has organized a Mutual Aid Network. If you are affected by the Coronavirus pandemic and are in NEED of support (food, resources, other assistance), please fill out this form: bit.ly/2QDOUll If you are able to PROVIDE support in whatever way, please fill out this form: bit.ly/2QG5QYG

Housing

California Renter Protections Provided Under AB 3088
Centers for Disease Control Order halting evictions through December 31, 2020.
Worried about paying rent? California and CDC protections may help. Threatened with eviction? You can fight it in court.
State of California Homeowners Protection Guidelines and Resources.

Work

The California Labor & Workforce Development Agency has COVID-19 related information on Disability and Unemployment Insurance and use of leave time.
The California Labor Commissioner's Office has a list of FAQ's on labor laws related to the COVID-19 emergency.
Fresno State's Career Development Center created a spreadsheet of local organizations hiring right now.
Indeed has gathered resources for What to do if your job is affected by COVID-19.
Also check out Indeed's New Graduate's Guide to Job Search that includes resources to help you find, apply to, interview for, and get the job that’s right for you.

Parenting

Talking with children about Coronavirus Disease 2019 from CDC
Checklist for Teachers and Parents from CDC
Working with Student Parents during COVID-19 from Dr. Larissa M. Mercado-Lopez, Fresno State Women’s Studies department
This Fresno Bee article has information on meals for kids available through schools around the Fresno area
Fresno Unified School District Learning Guides
Many links to homeschooling resources from SUNY Adirondack faculty
Khan Academy guides for remote learning during school closures
Free eBooks for children in multiple languages about the Coronavirus/Covid-19.
Audible Stories is a free website where kids of all ages can listen to hundreds of audiobooks across six different languages.

Bills/Utilities

PG&E will not disconnect your service and will offer flexible payment options.
The City of Fresno will not shut off water or garbage service due to the COVID-19 emergency.
Federal student loan payments, interest, and collection are suspended through Dec. 31, 2020.

DACA Students

More...

COVID-19 Trans Resources Directory from Translash

Mental Health

“Self-care is how you take your power back.”– Lalah Delia

Student Health & Counseling Center at Fresno State
Fresno State Counseling and Psychological Services are available for crisis or counseling appointments
online via Zoom. If you would like to make an appointment, call the main line for the Student Health and Counseling Center at 559-278-2734 or fill out the form at https://fresnostate.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_aW7pXOCyZ1BVOTz
In-Person Urgent Support
If you are feeling very upset, distressed, or having a difficult time calming yourself, and you need help urgently, either of the two Crisis Stabilization Units below can be visited.

more... less...

Exodus Recovery, Inc.Crisis Stabilization Center
24 Hour / 7 days week Walk-In Program
4411 East Kings Canyon Road
Fresno, CA 93702
Main (559) 453-1008

Community Behavioral Health Center
24 hrs day/7 days week
7171 N. Cedar Avenue
Fresno, CA 93720
(559) 449-8000
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
If you are having thoughts of suicide, call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline [800-273-8255] or text HELLO to the Crisis Text Line [741741]. If you identify as LGBTQ, contact the TrevorLifeline by calling their 24/7 line [866-488-7386] or text START to their text line [678678]
You@FresnoState
Explore the NEW free and anonymous well-being platform being, YOU@FresnoState. It can help you set goals, learn tools for coping with stress and anxiety, and more.
Self-Help Activities
Practice these research-based approaches for a happier, more meaningful life.
How to Meditate
A step-by-step introduction to starting a meditation practice including short, guided meditations audio clips. "Here are five reasons to meditate: 1: Understand your pain, 2: Lower your stress, 3: Connect better, 4: Improve focus, 5: Reduce brain chatter"
Tara Brach Guided Meditations
Tara Brach, Ph.D, is an internationally known meditation teacher and author or bestselling Radical Acceptance, True Refuge and Radical Compassion. Tara shares a weekly guided mediation and talk that address the value of mindfulness mediatation and self-compassion in relieving emotional suffering, serving spritual awakening and bringing healthing to our world.
Yoga for Uncertain Times
This collection of practices was assembled to support you in times of uncertainty. May this collection serve to remind you that you are not alone, to support you through unknown times, and to help you find peace through your home practice.

Fun Activities from Home

“Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes your smile can be the source of your joy.” - Thich Nhat Hanh

Art at Home
A guide to enjoying art at home! Including links to virtual musuem tours, digital art tools, games, and more.
28 Podcasts for Social Distancing
While you’re practicing social distancing, you will likely find yourself in need of some information, entertainment, comfort, or all three. Bello Collective put together a list of podcasts to get you started.
Animal and nature livestreams
Explore.org offers over 170 livestreams all around the world. Click here to watch the Happiness Village Baby Panda Park and browse to discover more.
Stay at Home: An Online Music Festival and Events Calendar
Stay at Home Fest harnesses the power of the internet for good, by creating a central hub to find all the fantastic decentralized events that are happening online, and aiding music discovery during the global pandemic. So, tune in here for an epic, open-source online music festival schedule, resources for artists to host their own shows, and our own very special mainstage livestream event, coming in April.
Online Arts Events During the COVID-19 Outbreak
A list of events that have moved online due to the crisis, in an effort to support artists, arts professionals, and cultural organizations, as well as to provide an enriching experience for those isolated at home as COVID-19 continues to spread.
Audible Stories
Instantly stream an incredible collection of hundreds of audiobooks, including titles across six different languages. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.

Activism

“I have come to believe over and over again that what is most important to me must be spoken, made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood.” - Audre Lorde

Fresno State ASI
Do you have concerns as a student regarding the move to online services or your access to support? Let your voice be heard! Contact your student representatives. They are there to voice student concerns to the university.
Resistbot
Contact your United States representatives in 2 minutes. Text the word RESIST on iMessage, Facebook Messenger, Twitter, Telegram, or to 50409 on SMS* and Resistbot will find out who represents you in Congress or your state legislature, turn your text into an email, fax, or postal letter, and deliver it to your representatives.
Change.org
WHAT DO YOU WANT TO CHANGE? Every hour Americans like you are launching petitions to address the spread of coronavirus, and they're winning. Officials are agreeing to school closures, paid leave, access to healthcare and more. Join the most important campaigns or start your own at Change.org.
10 Ways to Fight for Social Justice During the Coronavirus Pandemic
Great article from Teen Vogue: "10 ideas for how to keep our roots strong, nurture communities, and bolster human rights in the wake of this global pandemic."
Smithsonian's calendar of webcasts and online events

Fresno State COVID-19 Survival Guide

Ask a Librarian

Librarians are here to help, even if the library is closed.

Use our 24/7 Chat Service

Email Us

Contact your Subject Librarian