Skip to main content

Learn About Copyright

Copyright

GLOSSARY (from Music Library Association)


I've already purchased one copy. Can't I make a copy for my accompanist?
Adding Collection
I'd like to take digital pictures of album covers that the library owns, and then put these images on our music library's homepage - purely as decoration. Is there copyright on the image that I'd need to consider?
Alternative Classrooms
Anthologies
Are Videos Protected
Arrangements
Audio Preservation And Access
May I make archival back-up copies?
May I make back-up copies of computer software?
Bibliography
Borrowing From The Library
Burning A Missing CD
Do I need permission to make an arrangement of another composer's composition or song?
Should recordings carry a copyright notice for the underlying musical composition?
Are original works of authorship required to carry a copyright notice to be eligible for copyright?
What are the benefits of registering copyright with the U.S. Copyright Office?
Do I need to get permission to use lyrics or parts of lyrics to a traditional song in my own composition?'
Does a work have to be registered with the U.S. Copyright Office in order to be protected?
Does a composer need permission to incorporate the music of others into his/her compositions (including sampling)? What if the fair use is for the purpose of satire or parody?
What are ’works for hire’?
Does the commissioner of a work own the copyright?
Can the composer control and oversee all recordings of his or her compositions?
Who can claim copyright in an original work?
How does copyright affect composers and authors?
How are compositions registered with the U.S. Copyright Office?
Are properly registered works in the U.S. protected in other countries as well?
What are mechanical and synchronization licenses?
What are the benefits of placing copyright notices on original works of authorship?
Are libraries allowed to lend copies of computer software programs?
Are libraries allowed to lend copies of computer software programs?
Claiming Copyright
Commissions
Computer Software
Constitution
Control Of Recordings
May I make a single copy of the pieces that I play and sing and put those into a three-ring binder and leave the originals at home?
Copying For Page Turns
Copying For Reserve
Copyright And Fair Use
Copyright Claims
Copyright Effect
Copyright Notice
Course Anthologies
Damaged Microforms
Decisions
Digital Audio Reserves
Digital Excerpts
Digital Reserves
Digitizing Anthologies
Digitizing Collections
Distributing Digital Forms
Editing Recordings
Educational Photocopying
Educational Use Of Printed Music
What is fair use?
Fair Use
Fair Use Guidelines
Fair Use In An Electronic Age
Frequently Asked Questions
Computer Software
Fair Use
Glossary
Grant Permission
Historical Copyright
How To Register
International Copyright
International Protection
Are works in anthologies, collections, or periodicals protected?
What is not protected by copyright?
What works are protected by copyright?
LAC 12
Can works of foreign origin be under copyright in the U.S.?
How long does copyright last?
What is the Public Domain?
Are unpublished works protected by copyright?
What is the difference between a phonorecord and a sound recording?
What is copyright?
LAC 8
LAC 9
Laws
Laws And Codes
Length Limits
Length Of Copyright
Mechanical Licenses
Missing Parts
Notation From Scores
Number Of Copies
Number Of Reserve Copies
May off-air recordings be added to the library collection?
Must a copyright notice appear on the off-air recording?
May off-air recordings be edited?
May copies be made from off-air recordings?
Does fair use apply to video and audio recordings from the radio or television?
Is the retention guideline different for PBS programs than for other television programs?
How may off-air recordings of broadcast programs be used in the classroom?
What are the conditions under which off-air broadcasts may be recorded and stored?
May programs be recorded from television satellites?
Off-air Fair Use
Off-Air Recording
Off Air Recording
Online Resources
Out-of-print Material
Overused Recordings
Overused Video
A box set of 4 CDs was returned with v.2 disc missing. Is it possible to borrow a copy and burn a CD to complete the set?
What section of the Copyright Act provides for libraries preserving their collections?
A book (or a score) was returned damaged and is missing a page. May I get a copy of this book from another library, copy the page, and insert it in our copy?
We received a score/tape combination set. Can we make a copy of the tape and circulate the copy?
We have a microfilm copy of an item that is used so much that the microfilm is now scratched. Can we make a preservation copy before it is completely unreadable?
P 2 P And Copyright
We would like to digitize our sound (video, score) collection. Is this infringement?
As part of preserving our collection in digital form, we would like to make this material available on the internet to our students. Is this infringement?
We are missing the viola part for this string quartet. Can we photocopy a replacement part?
This recording is out of print and is used quite a bit. Can I make a copy of it to preserve the original? If so, may I circulate the taped version?
This video is out of print and is used quite a bit. Can I make a copy of it? If so, can I circulate the copy?
If I purchase adequate copies or parts for my ensemble, can I make copies to mark up for performance if I discard them afterward?
Can an academic library that archives the performance recordings of a music department distribute those tapes/CDs? If so, to whom and how?
PBS Programs
Performance Copies
Performance Permission
Performance Recordings
Performance Rights
Permission To Copy
Permission To Copy Reserves
Personal Fair Use
Playback Guidelines
Who can grant permission to perform a copyright-protected composition either live or on a sound recording?
Does a performer or record company own a performing right in their recordings?
Is permission required to perform a copyright-protected work in public?
Is it always the responsibility of the performer to obtain the performing rights license?
Preservation
Preservation Law
Printed Notice Benefits
Printed Notice Recording
Printed Notice Score
Private Label Recordings
What are the issues surrounding copyright protection systems and filtering software?
What are the issues surrounding copyright protection systems and filtering software?
Public Domain Works
Published Guidelines
Recent Changes
Recording Public Domain Music
Recording Storage
Registration Benefits
Repairing Score
Reports And Studies
Request Permission
What section of the Copyright Act governs copying for reserve?
How much of a copyrighted work may be copied for reserve without permission?
How many copies of an item can the library place on reserve?
Can copyrighted materials be copied for reserve without permission?
Do the Classroom and Music Guidelines apply to reserve operations?
Can photocopied material placed on reserve be reused?
Reserve Guidelines
Reserves
Resources
Reusing Copies
Sandbox 2
Satellite Recording
Score Recordings Sets
May a software package be used on several machines simultaneously?
May a software package be used on several machines simultaneously?
Do I need to secure permission from a publisher to use public domain music in a MIDI sound file?
Do I need to secure permission from a publisher to use public domain music in notation software?
How do computer software licenses affect the enforcement of copyright law?
How do computer software licenses affect the enforcement of copyright law?
Software Owner Rights
Sound And Notation Files
Sound From Scores
Traditional Lyrics
Transferring Formats
Unpublished Works
Unregistered Works
US Code
Use Of Works
Using Protected Works
Are Videos protected by copyright?
May a community discussion group which meets in a high school classroom view a videotape without securing permission from the copyright owner?
May a library keep the original video as a master and reproduce circulation copies from it?
A video becomes jammed in a playback unit and is partially ruined. May the library make a copy?
May a library make a copy of a videotape in order to convert from Beta format to VHS? From PAL to VHS? From laserdisc to VHS?
What should a librarian do if a patron asks about borrowing a video for purposes which may be infringing?
Under what conditions can I show a video in a public library?
May the members of a community discussion group which meets at the public library view a videotape without securing permission from the copyright owner?
May several students from a class borrow a videotape from the public library and view it at home?
May several students from a class view a videotape in a private room at the public library? In an academic library?
Under what conditions can I show a video to a class of students?
May a professor use the school auditorium to show a video to 4 classes studying the same work?
May several students who missed the classroom performance of a video view it at some other time in the school library?
May a faculty member show a video labeled ’Home Use Only’ to her class? How about a video rented from a video store?
Video
Video-Borrowing From The Library
Video-Circulating Copies
Video-Community At School
Video-Community In The Library
Video-Damaged Videos
Video-Format Conversion
Video-Home Use Only
Video-In-classroom Use
Video-Library Responsibility
Video-Make-up Viewing
Video-Students At Library
Video-Videos In Public Libraries
What Is A Phonorecord
What Is Copyright
What Is DMCA
What Is Fair Use
What Is GATT
What Is Not Protected
What Is Protected
What Is The Public Domain
What Is UCITA
Works For Hire

Or you could try doing a search on that?

If you've gotten this far and haven't found what you were looking for, you might be out of luck.