Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Solutions Hub Research Guide

Welcome

Welcome to the Library Research Guide!

This guide has been created to assist students in the Solutions Hub program with their business research. I hope that the information contained here will be useful to you. Please check out the tabs in the left column to locate the information you need and contact me if you don't find what you are looking for.

The Company Research tab contains databases that help you identify characteristics or details of specific companies. This will be useful in projects that involve identifying and bench-marking competitors or identifying business-to-business customers.

The Industry & Market Research tab contains databases that help you identify specific trends within an industry or a specific market area. This information focuses mostly on the aggregate identifying broad trends.

The Consumer Research tab contains databases with data from small businesses and individual consumers. These databases can help with customer lead generation and analysis of demographics and behavior trends within defined market areas.

The Social Media tab contains links to resources that will aid in the development of social media strategy and content. This will contain useful frameworks for designing an effective social media content calendar.

Hiromi Kubo
Business & Economics Librarian
California State University, Fresno
hkubo@csufresno.edu

New & Popular Titles

ReferenceUSA (Database) has been renamed to Data Axle Reference Solutions.

Data Axle Reference Solutions includes databases of current U.S. and Canadian businesses, historical business records, U.S. residents, and consumer lifestyle profiles.

RIA Checkpoint (Database) has been upgraded to Checkpoint Edge.

Thomson Reuters' Checkpoint Edge provides access to a variety of RIA tax products and federal documentation. It contains federal and state tax law and regulations including interpretations and commentary.

PrivCo (Database)

PrivCo offers detailed data on US-based, non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, and venture-backed companies. Its advanced search capacity allows users to conduct in-depth company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, and private equity research.

Business Source Ultimate (Database)

As an upgrade of the Business Source Complete database, Business Source Ultimate offers more comprehensive full-text access of journals published in business disciplines, including management, marketing, finance, accounting, and economics.

Mergent Intellect (Database)

Mergent Intellect provides information about more than 310 million businesses globally (including 70 million in the U.S.), 90 million executives, 900 industry segments, and over 250 North American residents. Unlike many other business databases that primarily focus on public companies, Mergent Intellect focuses more on private companies. Company profiles include basic company details (e.g., address, industry, number of employees), industry details, information about key executives, and a list of companies that are affiliated.

Gale's Business Plans Handbook series (Vol. 13 to the most current volume available via Gale eBooks)

Gale's Business Plans Handbooks offer actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Sample plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries, which serve as examples of how to approach, structure, and compose business plans.

Earlier volumes are also available either online or in print:

Business Plans Handbook, vol.12 (in print)
Business Plans Handbook, vol. 1-11 (online)

Library Services

Find Library Materials

Search books, journals, and other library materials from the main search box on the library home page. Write down or take a photo of the call number (e.g., HG1616 B7 L86) and location (e.g., Lower Level, Reference, etc.) to find the item on the shelf. 

Need a Textbook? Check if your professor reserved course materials on reserve at the Circulation Desk.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services

Request books and other library materials not owned by the Madden Library through CSU+ and ILLiad to obtain them from other CSU libraries or libraries statewide, nationally, and internationally.  

Online Library Tutorials

Library tutorials are available in Canvas and give an overview of library services as well as how to search the online catalog and electronic databases.

Tech Lending

Library equipment such as laptops, iPads/tablets, flip video cameras, and headphones is available for checkout.

 Group/Individual Study Rooms

Reserve a study room located on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the Library. Contact Circulation Desk at (559) 278-2551 for more information.

Printing, Copying & Scanning on Campus

Pay for Print System allows Fresno State students, employees, and guests to print from anywhere on-campus, even from your own computer using our wireless network.

Need Help? Ask!

The Research Help Desk (1st floor of the library) is available for research assistance in person, by phone or email during library hours. Live chat with a librarian is available 24/7.