Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Agricultural Marketing Resource Guide

Industry and Marketing Resources

IBIS World

IBISWorld provides access to in-depth industry reports on more than 1,200 industries in the U.S. and worldwide, including specialized industries that are otherwise difficult to locate in many other sources. Each report consists of 30–40 pages of detailed industry analysis, including industry definition, key statistics, industry segmentation, market characteristics, operating conditions, key success factors, major players, and current and forecast industry performance. The information is current and updated regularly.

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect provides information about more than 310 million businesses globally (including 70 million in the U.S.), 90 million executives, 900 industry segments, and over 250 North American residents. Unlike many other business databases that primarily focus on public companies, Mergent Intellect focuses more on private companies. Company profiles include basic company details (e.g., address, industry, number of employees), industry details, information about key executives, and a list of companies that are affiliated.

PolicyMap

PolicyMap utilizes GIS and US data indicators to provide detailed maps, tables and charts of the nation. PolicyMap’s data indicators are accessible through the main menu and including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, and health. Data can be viewed on the census tract level in many cases, as well as city, county, zip, state, US congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts.

New Strategist Press Series

A series of books, available electronically, covering a range of consumer and demographic behaviors.

Research and Case Study Resources

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics

A site developed and maintained at the University of Minnesota by Magrath Library and the Department of Applied Economics. AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics that includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.

AGRICOLA

Provides access to literature aquired by the National Agricultural Library. Serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries. Also covers food and nutrition, agricultural economics, and parasitology.

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Premier is a comprehensive business research database that provides articles, reports, data, images, videos, and other types of information in all disciplines of business. It offers in-depth industry profiles, business-focused articles from major newspapers, trade magazines, and scholarly journals, company profiles with 4,000 SWOT analyses, executive interviews, market research reports, case studies, country economic reports, and over 60,000 videos on various business topics. Articles are available from 1886 to the present.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts

FSTA – Food Science and Technology Abstracts®, produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is the world's leading database of information on food science, food technology and nutrition. Abstracts are highly informative and wherever possible, include additional information of food-relevance from the original article. The database includes material from over 4,600 serial publications, covering all the major food commodities plus biotechnology, microbiology, food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Coverage spans from 1969 - present. The database includes more than 740,000 records, with more than 35,000 records added annually.

Data & Government Resources

USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System

Contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. A directory for market-related resources.

USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)

Ag statistics organized by state, subject (such as crop type), and demographic information.

USDA Agricultural Marketing Service

The branch of the USDA that works with producers and consumers to market American agricultural commodities, including standards and grading, research, and promotion.

US Bureau of Labor Statistics

Responsible for a variety of statistic categories, including inflation and pricing, employment, pay & benefits, spending and time use, productivity, workplace injuries, and other valuable US information.  The Consumer Expenditure Survey is particularly useful, and includes "data on the buying habits of American consumers, by socioeconomic characteristics" (US BLS).