Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historical Documents

Collections

Documents of American History 10th edition, 1988
1st floor Reference E 173 D59 v.1 (to 1898); and v.2 (since 1898)
6th edition online includes documents through 1957 (Fresno State access only)
7th edition via Internet Archive includes documents up through 1962.

Cornerstone Documents.  govinfo.gov
Links to the text of a variety of key historical (as well as current) government documents: such as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, the Federalist Papers, the Emancipation Proclamation, and the Gettysburg Address.

Primary Documents in American History.  1775-1920 Library of Congress
Including early Congressional Documents, the Declaration of Independence, the Federalist Papers, and the Constitution of the United States.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Browse Collections by subject or search by keywords to locate online archival collections such as:
      •  Documents from the Continental Congress & the Constitutional Convention 1774-1789.
      •  A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
         U.S. congressional documents and debates 1774-1873;
         published congressional journals, debates, and acts from the Continental Congress through
         the 42nd Congress, and selected volumes from the Serial Set.

National Archives and Records Administration
      •  America's Historical Documents
      •  100 Milestone Documents
      •  Presidential Libraries
      •  Online Exhibits
      •  NARA Archival Research Catalog