LibGuides: Art, Design, and Art History: Find Images

Find Images

Museum Collections
Art Images in Databases

Los Angeles County Musuem of Art (LACMA)
LACMA's Collections Online provides access to over 80,000 high-resolution images of artworks from their collection.
Musuem of Modern Art (MoMA)
MoMA's Collection Online offers access to more than 102,000 images of modern and contemporary artwork from their collection, including paintings, sculptures, photographs, and more.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art (The Met)
Met Museum Open Access provides access to over 400,000 high-resolution digital images of artworks from their collection.
The Getty Museum
The Getty Open Content Program offers access to over 100,000 digital images of artworks from their collection, including paintings, sculptures, manuscripts, and more.
The British Museum
The British Museum's Collection Online provides access to over 4.5 million objects, including images, with a focus on world history and culture.
The National Gallery of Art
NGA Images offers more than 51,000 open access digital images of artworks from the National Gallery of Art's collection.
Rijksmuseum
Rijksmuseum's Rijkstudio offers high-resolution images of artworks from their collection, with over 700,000 artworks available for free download and creative use.
The Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian Open Access Initiative provides access to millions of digital assets from the Smithsonian's museums, including images, 3D models, and data.
The National Gallery, London
The National Gallery's Collection offers access to over 25,000 images of artworks from their collection, including paintings, drawings, and prints.
The Art Institute Chicago
The Art Institute of Chicago's Collection offers access to over 52,000 images of artworks including paintings, sculptures, prints, and decorative arts.
National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, South Korea
The museum collection contains around 10,000 artworks including works of contemporary Korean artists such as Go Hui-dong, Ku Bon-ung, Park Su-geun, and Kim Whan-ki. The museum has also gathered a substantial internationally recognized collection.

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 2.4 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Registration is required to download images, save and organize customized image groups, and use any of the instructor-level tools. Collections range from The Metropolitan Museum of Art, MoMA, and the Louvre to more specialized content from the Bodleian Library at Oxford University, Harvard’s Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, and the Magnum Photos agency.

How to Use ARTStor

Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. It includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by over 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. It also includes access to the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Alternate Name: Grove Art (Grove Dictionary of Art Online); Oxford Art Online. Please note, we only have access to Grove Art Online which is one of several resources offered on the Oxford Art Online platform.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative, and commercial art to photography, folk art, film, and architecture. With full text coverage dating back to 1977, this database also contains resources such as books by and about artists, artist materials and methods, artist interviews and profiles and a database-specific thesaurus. It includes full text articles from more than 320 periodicals, indexing for more than 14,000 art dissertations, and abstracts for nearly 700 periodicals, including more than 370 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers more than 70,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. The collection represents content from over 800 leading distributors, producers, and filmmakers such as CNN, 60 MINUTES, PBS, BBC, Contemporary Arts Media, and the Royal Shakespeare Company.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides streaming access to documentaries, independent, and feature films. *Instructors: request access by completing the request form in front of the video, please add a note if needed for multiple semesters*. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, and others. Videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows.

Retiring ARTstor

ARTstor's platform, JSTOR, is retiring the ARTstor database in August 2024. All of images from DASe and ARTstor will be migrated to JSTOR.

More information