Art, Design, and Art History

An excellent starting point for any topic, Academic Search Ultimate contains nearly 13,000 academic journals, magazines, and newspapers. Content covers all subject areas with material from 1887 to the present.

Covers a variety of topics from fine, decorative, and commercial art to photography, folk art, film, and architecture. With full text coverage dating back to 1977, this database also contains resources such as books by and about artists, artist materials and methods, artist interviews and profiles and a database-specific thesaurus. It includes full text articles from more than 320 periodicals, indexing for more than 14,000 art dissertations, and abstracts for nearly 700 periodicals, including more than 370 peer-reviewed journals.

Provides access to over 2.4 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Registration is required to download images, save and organize customized image groups, and use any of the instructor-level tools. Collections range from The Metropolitan Museum of Art, MoMA, and the Louvre to more specialized content from the Bodleian Library at Oxford University, Harvard’s Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, and the Magnum Photos agency.

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Upon following the link to Google Scholar below, you'll be presented with the option to associate your Google Scholar session with Fresno State library access links. Please SAVE these settings before continuing to use Google Scholar. Doing so will ensure that you're provided with Fresno State library access links when using this resource from off campus.

Scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. It includes peer-reviewed articles contributed by over 7,000 scholars from around the world, accompanied by images, bibliographies, and links to additional resources. It also includes access to the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Alternate Name: Grove Art (Grove Dictionary of Art Online); Oxford Art Online. Please note, we only have access to Grove Art Online which is one of several resources offered on the Oxford Art Online platform.