Skip to main content

World's Fair Collection

Other Libraries/Collections

Extensive collections on multiple world’s fairs

Smithsonian Institution Libraries (scroll down to World’s Fairs)

Special Collections Department, University of Delaware Library
Primary sources on world’s fairs and expositions held in the United States between 1876 and 1939

Library of Congress. American Memory Project.
A site with 7 million digital items, thousands of them from different world’s fairs. Includes digitized documents, maps, films, sound recordings, photographs and prints. The site is searchable.

University of Maryland Libraries
List of books
Ephemeral collection

Boston Public Library.
Rare Books and Manuscripts Department
Look for World’s Fair Collection (also called Robert Feer Collection).

Canadian Centre for Architecture. Special Collections
Description of holdings for international expositions from the 1844 Paris exhibition to the Expo 2000 Hannover.

The Wolfsonian, Florida International University, Miami
A museum collection of materials and objects produced for or exhibited at world’s fairs and expositions since 1851.

World’s fairs in Chicago

Chicago Historical Society
World’s Columbian Exposition, 1893
Century of Progress Exposition, 1933-1934

Chicago Public Library
World’s Columbian Exposition, 1893

Curt Teich Postcard Archives
Schmalgemeier Century of Progress Collection

University Library, University of Illinois at Chicago
Records of the Century of Progress World’s Exposition (1933-1934)

Other world’s fairs

Library of Virginia
1939 (New York) World’s Fair Photography Collection

Mechanics’ Institute Library
A private institution that has the oldest library on the West Coast. Search their online catalog for sources on mostly California fairs. Use subject heading “exhibitions.”

Omaha Public Library
Information and digitized photos (plus a map and a calendar) from the Trans Mississippi & International Exposition in 1898.

San Diego Historical Society
Panama-California Exposition, San Diego 1915-1916
California Pacific Exposition, San Diego 1935-1936

University of Reading Library
Great Exhibition Collection