Slavery Primary Source Resources
Below are a few selected book series that contain primary source material related to slavery in the United States:
- War of the Rebellion Official Records of the Union and Confederate ArmiesISBN: 0918678072Publication Date: 1985-04-01
Freedom: a Documentary History of Emancipation, 1861-1867 by ISBN: 1469611082Publication Date: 2014-06-24
Below are a few selected newspaper/periodical databases where you could find primary sources related to slavery in the United States:
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collection that includes full text access to 280 newspapers published by or for African Americans. Content spans from 1827 to 1998.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and browse hundreds of U.S. newspapers published from 1690 through the 20th Century, including titles from all 50 states. Features the complete content of each issue, including news stories, illustrations, advertisements, cartoons and much more. America's Historical Newspapers consists of Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980. While these collections can be searched separately, America's Historical Newspapers offers a single interface to search across all three collections simultaneously.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Primary source collection of over 170 periodicals by or about African Americans. It includes full text access to popular magazines, academic and political journals, and more. Content spans from 1825 to 1995.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery, Parts 1-4 This link opens in a new window
The largest and most ambitious project of its kind, this collection is devoted to the scholarly study and understanding of slavery from a multinational perspective. An unprecedented collection developed under the guidance of a board of scholars, it offers never before available research opportunities and endless teaching possibilities.
- Chronicling AmericaCreated by the Library of Congress, Chronicling America has historic newspaper from 1789-1963