Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FSC 142 - Dairy Processing

Databases to Find Articles

FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts   (1969-     )  ***one user at a time***
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.

CAB Abstracts (1973-     ) 
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
Limit your search results to academic journals

Agricola   (1970-    )
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and books, but include other type of resources.
 • Limit your search results to academic journals

CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) (1937-  )
Good source for articles on nutrition.
Limit your search results to academic journals

 

Academic Search Premier
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects

Web of Science/Web of Knowledge  1990-
Citations from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
     • Braun-Fahrlaender, C., and E. von Mutius. 2011. "Can farm milk consumption prevent allergic diseases?."
       Clinical And Experimental Allergy 41, no. 1: 29-35.

 

 

Combined Books+Journal Article Search (the same as the search box on the library's home page)
From one search box, find material in the library catalog, journal articles, and other resources
You can restrict article search results to journal articles and to scholarly resource

Business Source Premier
All areas of business and industry. Scholarly and trade journals.

ABI/Inform Complete
Search the ABI/Inform business and industry databases at once to find articles from news sources,  journals, trade and business publications, market reports, and more.

 

GoogleScholar through the campus proxy
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

How do I get the article without paying? Is it scholarly/peer reviewed?

If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
      it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.

If you don't know if the article is in a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
   it links to Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory so you can see if the journal is scholarly/academic and peer-reviewed
   (Ulrich's calls peer-review refereed).

To get  Find It @ Fresno State to work from Google Scholar:
Either go to GoogleScholar through the campus proxy
Or, in Google Scholar:
     1. Click Scholar Settings
     2. Type fresno in the  Library Links box and click <Find Library>
     3. Select CSU Fresno - Find It at Fresno State
     4. Click  Save
  (you might need to click on More to see the Find It @ option in Google Scholar's list of citations)