Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MONEY SMART: Financial Literacy Education

Financial Literacy Education: Resources

360 Degrees is a free program to help consumers understand their personal finances through various stages of life and develop money management skills.

ALA's Money Smart Week Web site offers useful information and tools for various types of libraries to get involved in the MSW campaign.

Created by the ALA-ORE, and funded by the FINRA Investor Education Foundation, this guide covers a variety of personal finance-focused subjects, such as budgeting, banking, saving and spending, credit and debt, financing college, managing financial hardship, real estate, investing, retirement, and so forth.

AnnualCreditReport.com is the only source for free credit reports authorized by federal law.

The State of California's Consumer Services Center offers various consumer information including personal finance information.

This annual publication provides "consumer contacts at hundreds of companies and trade associations, local, state, and federal government agencies, national consumer organizations, and more."

Consumer Finance Protection Bureau is a government agency founded after the 2011 financial crisis to protect consumers from unfair financial practices and empower them to make smart financial decisions.  Try its financial education tools such as Paying for College (student financial guides, financial aid comparison tools, and other helpful resources for students to make informed financial decisions) and Ask CFPB (an interactive Q&A database to help users find answers to hundreds of financial questions),  research reports and data, policies and regulations. They also provide access to other free tools and materials such as their online resources, and free print materials.

This government Web site provides basic information on consumer protection such as personal financial management, credit and loans, debt management, and identity theft.  Videos, lesson plans, and other educational tools are also available.

  • Extension by NIFA Cooperative Extension System

Many research-based articles and webinar information on personal finance are available in the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) Cooperative Extension System Web site.

The FDIC provides a financial education program called Money Smart that is "designed to help low- and moderate-income individuals outside the financial mainstream enhance their financial skills and create positive banking relationships."

The Chicago Fed's Web site provides useful resources and tools related to the Money Smart Week. Additional financial literacy education resources are available in the Education section.

The Minneapolis Fed's website provides useful resources and tools related to Money Smart Week. Additional financial literacy education resources are available in the Community & Education section.

The Kansas City Fed's website provides useful resources and tools related to the Money Smart Week. Additional financial literacy education resources are available in the Education section.

The San Francisco Fed's Web site provides useful resources and tools related to the Money Smart Week. Additional financial literacy education resources are available in the Education section.

The San Francisco Fed's Web site provides useful resources and tools related to the Money Smart Week. Additional financial literacy education resources are available in the Education section.

This site provides activities, games (like the FiftyNifty Econ Flashcards) , and financial information such as credit, banking, personal finance, and consumer protection. Additional Federal Reserve Education Tools can be found at the federalreserve.gov website.

As a part of the U.S. Department of Education, the Federal Student Aid Office provides grants, loans, and work-study funds for students in college and career school.

FINRA is an independent, non-profit organization authorized by Congress to protect America's investors by making sure the securities industry operates fairly and honestly. FINRA provides investor alerts, background checks of investment advisors, or complaint submission about brokers.

The Institute for Financial Literacy is a nonprofit organization to promote financial education and counseling.  It provides financial education information and services including the National Standards for Adult Financial Literacy Education, Library of Personal Finance, Center for Consumer Financial Research, and financial education conference and awards.

Get information, forms, instructions and answers about your federal income taxes. Highlights include FreeFile free tax software and the IRS withholding calculator.

Brought to you by the Securities & Exchange Commission's Office of Investor Education and Advocacy, Investor.gov is your online resource to help you invest wisely and avoid fraud.

The J$TTA was founded by five non-profit organizations (council for economic education, Jump$tart,Junior Achievement, NEFE, and the Take Charge America Institute at the University of Arizona), and with contributions from three federal agencies (FDIC, the U.S. Treasury Dept. anf the U.S. Department of Ed.) The J$TTA developed a training model intended for use with teachers, but can be easily adapted to other professions.

The Maryland State Department of Education Implementation of Personal Financial Literacy Education 4th annual update

A one-stop resource for military service members and their families. Military OneSource is a confidential Department of Defense-funded program providing comprehensive information on every aspect of military life at no cost to active duty, Guard and Reserve Component members, and their families. Information includes, but is not limited to, deployment, reunion relationship, grief, spouse employment and education, parenting and childcare, amd so much more.

Money as You Grow was recommended as an initiate of the President's Advisory Council on Financial Capability, This website instructs parents and educator on what money information children should know as they grow from preschool through college.

Money Smart week is a public awareness campaign designed to help consumers better manage their personal finances. This is achieved through the collaboration and coordinated effort of hundreds of organizations across the country including businesses, financial institutions, schools, libraries, not-for-profits, government agencies and the media.

MyMoney.gov is the U.S. government's website dedicated to teaching all Americas the basics about financial education.

This nonprofit organization has developed Financial Workshop Kits, which have been used by many nonprofit organizations to put on financial literacy programs.

This Toolkit is developed by the Partnership for the 21stCentury Skills; identifies six critical literacies, including global Awareness, Health Literacy, Environmental Literacy, Civic Literacy, and Financial/Economic/Business & Entrepreneurial Literacy.

This document includes the goal to identify and integrate core financial competencies related to financial literacy. "The development of core financial literacies will provide individuals with the information they need at critical ages and life stages so that they are empowered to make informed decisions. Additionally, core competencies can be integrated into targeted financial education programs and services." (p. 9).

Publications.USA.gov provides better navigation; search; shopping experience; and now some of your favorite publications in popular e-reader formats. The site provides links to free materials and resources from across the federal government. It employs social media channels to keep you informed of new publications.

This Web site provides access to the government publications on various consumer protection topics such as consumer rights, scams and fraud, ID theft, and smart shopping.

SaveAndInvest.org, a project of the FINRA Investor Education Foundation, is a free, unbiased resource dedicated to your financial health. Through easy-to-use tools and resources, SaveAndInvest.org helps you make informed financial decisions-and arms you with the information you need to protect yourself from investment fraud.

In the Small Business Act of July 30, 1953, Congress created the Small Business Administration, whose function is to "aid, counsel assist and protect, insofar as is possible, the interests of a small business concerns." The charter also stipulates that SBA would ensure small businesses in a "fair proportion" of the government contracts and sales of surplus property.

South Carolina enacted legislation that required that financial literacy be taught in schools. The financial literacy Instruction Act of 2005 (S.C. Code Ann. § 59-29-410) was established to achieve three goals: provide students in kindergarten through twelfth grade with tools they will need in the real world to manage their finances; increase comprehensive services so students have reduced risk for financial failure after high school; and promote high quality programs that provide instruction on pertinent financial literacy issues.

 

This document is created by the Consumer Financial Protection Agency, and outlines recommendations for implementing financial education in schools.

These standards help to build a foundation for learning to assist teachers in developing and implementing curricula that will impact students for life. The standards reflect a broad definition of personal finance and include application of knowledge and skills that address a variety of life and work issues.