LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Resource Guide: Books / Media

Find Books & Media

Visit the Library's homepage to begin your search for books and media using the Library's Catalog (OneSearch).

Not sure what terms to use while searching for a book? Try these resources listing LGBTQ+ subject terms:

Featured Books

Featured E-Books Available Through the Library

Good White Queers? Racism and Whiteness in Queer U.S. Comics by Kai Linke
Publication Date: 2021
Included Subjects: Queer comic books, strips, etc // Queer theory // Racism // White people -- Race identity
Staging Discomfort: Performance and Queerness in Contemporary Cuba by Bretton White
Publication Date: 2021
Included Subjects: Homosexuality and theater -- Cuba // Cuban drama -- History and criticism
Queercore: How to Punk a Revolution: An Oral History by Liam Warfield (Editor); Walter Crasshole (Editor); Yony Leyser (Editor); Anna Joy Springer (Introduction by); Lynn Breedlove (Introduction by)
Publication Date: 2021
Included Subjects: Gay culture // Punk culture
Queer Muslim Diasporas in Contemporary Literature and Film by Alberto Fernández Carbajal
Publication Date: 2019
Included Subjects: Muslim diaspora in literature // Homosexuality in motion pictures // Homosexuality in literature
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by Howard Chiang (Editor), Anjali Aronekar (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Included Subjects: Sexual minorities -- History -- Encyclopedias // Gays -- History -- Encyclopedias / Transgender people -- History -- Encyclopedias // Bisexuals -- History -- Encyclopedias
Queerness in Play by Todd Harper (Editor); Meghan Blythe Adams (Editor); Nicholas Taylor (Editor); Gerald Voorhees (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
Included Subjects: Video games -- Social aspects // Gender identity -- Social aspects // Sexual minorities -- Social conditions // Queer theory
Transgender and the Literary Imagination: Changing Gender in Twentieth-Century Writing by Rachel Carroll
Publication Date: 2018
Included Subjects: Transgender people in literature // Gender identity in literature -- 20th century
For the Gay Stage: A Guide to 456 Plays, Aristophanes to Peter Gill by Drewey Wayne Gunn
Publication Date: 2017
Included Subjects: Homosexuality in literature // Drama -- Stories, plots, etc
Queering Contemporary Asian American Art by Laura Kina (Editor); Jan Christian Bernabe (Editor); Susette Min (Foreword by); Kyoo Lee (Afterword by)
Publication Date: 2017
Included Subjects: Asian American art -- 21st century // Group identity in art
Trans* in College by Z. Nicolazzo
Publication Date: 2017
Included Subjects: Transgender college students // College student orientation
Black LGBT Health in the United States by Lourdes Dolores Follins (Editor); Jonathan Mathias Lassiter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Included Subjects: Sexual minorities -- Medical care -- United States // African American gays -- United States // Bisexuals -- Medical care -- United States // Transsexuals -- Medical care -- United States
Giving Voice to the Voiceless: A Qualitative Study of Reducing Marginalization of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Same-Sex Attracted Students at Christian Colleges and Universities by Christopher Yuan
Publication Date: 2016
Included Subjects: Homosexuality and education // Sexual minority college students

Featured Print Books Available in the Library

Las Biuty Queens by Iván Monalisa Ojeda; Hannah Kauders (Translator)
Publication Date: 2021
Location: Popular Reading Collection
Included Subjects: Transgender people -- United States // Latin Americans -- United States
Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde
Publication Date: 2020
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: African American women // Feminism // Lesbianism // Poetry // Essays
Transgender: A Reference Handbook by Aaron Devor; Ardel Haefele-Thomas
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Transgender people // Transgender people -- Identity
Pet by Akwaeke Emezi
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Popular Reading Collection, Arne Nixon Center, and the Teacher Resource Center/Juv.
Included Subjects: Monsters -- Juvenile fiction // Angels -- Juvenile fiction // Families -- Juvenile fiction // Artists -- Juvenile fiction // Selective mutism -- Juvenile fiction // Transgender people -- Juvenile fiction // Young adult fiction // Family life -- Fiction
The Stonewall Reader by New York Public Library (Editor); Edmund White (Foreword by); Jason Baumann (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Gay liberation movement -- United States -- History // Stonewall Riots, New York, N.Y., 1969
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health by Jason S. Schneider (Editor); MD, Vincent MB Silenzio (Editor); Laura Erickson-Schroth (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Sexual minorities -- Medical care -- United States // Gays -- Medical care -- United States // Bisexuals -- Medical care -- United States // Transsexuals -- Medical care -- United States // Homosexuality -- United States
Love and Resistance: Out of the Closet into the Stonewall Era by Diana Davies (Photographer); Kay Tobin (Photographer); Roxane Gay (Intro Writer); Jason Baumann (Editor)
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Gay liberation movement -- United States -- History -- Pictorial works // Stonewall Riots, New York, N.Y., 1969 -- Pictorial works // Demonstrations -- United States -- Pictorial works // Protest movements -- United States -- Pictorial works
The Singing Teacher's Guide to Transgender Voices by Liz Jackson Hearns and Brian Kremer
Publication Date: 2018
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Singing -- Instruction and study // School music -- Instruction and study // Transgender students
Looking for Lorraine: The Radiant and Radical Life of Lorraine Hansberry by Imani Perry
Publication Date: 2018
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Hansberry, Lorraine, 1930-1965 -- Political and social views // Dramatists, American -- 20th century -- Biography // African American dramatists -- Biography // African American women civil rights workers -- Biography
Exile Within Exiles: Herbert Daniel, Gay Brazilian Revolutionary by James N. Green
Publication Date: 2018
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Gays -- Brazil -- Biography // Revolutionaries -- Brazil -- Biography // AIDS activists -- Brazil -- Biography
Russian Homophobia from Stalin to Sochi by Dan Healey
Publication Date: 2018
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Homophobia -- Soviet Union -- History // Homosexuality -- Soviet Union -- History
Born Both: An Intersex Life by Hida Viloria
Publication Date: 2017
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Intersex people -- United States -- Biography // Intersex people -- Identity // Intersexuality
Black on Both Sides: A Racial History of Trans Identity by C. Riley Snorton
Publication Date: 2017
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Transgender people -- United States // African American transgender people // Racism -- United States
Queer Game Studies by Bonnie Ruberg (Editor); Adrienne Shaw (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Location: Lower Level
Included Subjects: Video games -- Social aspects // Gender identity // Gays // Queer theory

Featured Graphic Novels Available in the Library

*The Graphic Novel Collection is located on the 1st Floor near the DISCOVERe Hub.

Young Men in Love by Joe Glass (Editor); Matt Miner (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022
Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Young gay men -- Comic books, strips, etc // Homosexuality -- Comic books, strips, etc // Love -- Comic books, strips, etc
Until I Meet My Husband by Ryōsuke Nanasaki (Writer); Yoshi Tsukizuki (Artist)
Publication Date: 2022
Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subject: Gay men -- Japan -- Comic books, strips, etc // Same-sex marriage -- Japan -- Comic books, strips, etc // Dating (Social customs) -- Japan -- Comic books, strips, etc
Fine: A Comic About Gender by Rhea Ewing
Publication Date: 2022
Location: Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sex role -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender-nonconforming people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual minorities -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity // Sex role // Two-spirit people
Messy Roots: A Graphic Memoir of a Wuhanese American by Laura Gao
Publication Date: 2022
Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the *Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Gao, Laura // Chinese Americans
Across a Field of Starlight by Blue Delliquanti
Publication Date: 2022
Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Science fiction // Imaginary wars and battles // Interpersonal relations
Coming Back by Jessi Zabarsky
Publication Date: 2021
Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the *Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Fantasy // Love // Magic // Lesbians
The Girl from the Sea by Molly Knox Ostertag
Publication Date: 2021
Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Families // Sexual minorities // Best friends // Islands // Love in adolescence // Selkies // Mythical animals // Dating (Social customs) // Lesbians // Young adult fiction // Fantasy comics // Coming-of-age comics
The Secret to Superhuman Strength by Alison Bechdel
Publication Date: 2021
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Physical fitness // Fads
The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen
Publication Date: 2020
Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Vietnamese Americans // Parent and child // Fairy tales // Books and reading // Gay Asian Americans // Gay and lesbian youth // Identity (Psychology) // Coming out (Sexual orientation)
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking up with Me by Mariko Tamaki (Writer); Rosemary Valero-O'Connell (Artist)
Publication Date: 2019
Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the Teacher Resource Center/Juv.
Included Subjects: YOUNG ADULT FICTION -- Comics & Graphic Novels -- Romance // YOUNG ADULT FICTION -- Social Themes -- Dating & Sex // YOUNG ADULT FICTION -- Social Themes -- Friendship // Friendship in adolescence
Gender Queer: A Memoir by Maia Kobabe
Publication Date: 2019
Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center, the *Graphic Novel Collection, and the Teacher Resource Center/Curr.
Included Subjects: Gender-nonconforming people -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asexual people -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual minority youth -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual minorities -- United States -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asexuality (Sexual orientation) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Coming out (Sexual orientation) -- Comic books, strips, etc
Black Panther: World of Wakanda by Roxane Gay (Writer); Yona Harvey (Writer); Ta-Nehisi Coates (Writer); Alitha E. Martinez (Artist); Afua Richardson (Artist); Roberto Poggi (Artist)
Publication Date: 2017
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Black Panther (Fictitious character) -- Comic books, strips, etc // Superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bodyguards -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women, Black -- Comic books, strips, etc // Kings and rulers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Royal houses -- Africa -- Comic books, strips, etc
Death Threat by Vivek Shraya (Writer); Ness Lee (Artist)
Publication Date: 2019
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Transphobia -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transgender people -- Crimes against -- Comic books, strips, etc // Hate mail -- Comic books, strips, etc // Anonymous letters -- Comic books, strips, etc
A Quick & Easy Guide to Queer & Trans Identities by Mady G.; J. R. Zuckerberg (Artist)
Publication Date: 2019
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Sexual minority community -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Juvenile literature // Transgender people -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Juvenile literature // Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Juvenile literature
Check, Please! Book 1: #Hockey by Ngozi Ukazu
Publication Date: 2018
Location: Arne Nixon Center
Included Subjects: Hockey players -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gay college students -- Comic books, strips, etc // College sports -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bloggers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bakers -- Comic books, strips, etc
We're Still Here: An All-Trans Comics Anthology by Jeanne Thornton (Editor, Contributor); Tara Madison Avery (Editor, Contributor)
Publication Date: 2018
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Transgender people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transsexuals -- Comic books, strips, etc // Medicine -- Comic books, strips, etc
Our Wretched Town Hall by Eric Kostiuk Williams
Publication Date: 2018
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gay men -- Comic books, strips, etc
Bingo Love by Tee Franklin (Writer); Jenn St. Onge (Artist); Joy San (Artist)
Publication Date: 2018
Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the *Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Bingo -- Comic books, strips, etc // Grandmothers -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lesbians -- Comic books, strips, etc
Love Letters to Jane's World by Paige Braddock
Publication Date: 2018
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Lesbians -- Comic books, strips, etc // Female friendship -- Comic books, strips, etc // American wit and humor, Pictorial // Jane's world (Comic strip) -- Appreciation
Gumballs by Erin Nations
Publication Date: 2018
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Transgender people -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sex role -- Comic books, strips, etc // Transsexualism -- Comic books, strips, etc
A Quick & Easy Guide to They/Them Pronouns by Archie Bongiovanni (Writer, Artist); Tristan Jimerson (Writer)
Publication Date: 2018
Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the *Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Grammar, Comparative and general -- Pronoun -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gender identity -- Comic books, strips, etc // Interpersonal communication -- Comic books, strips, etc
Exit Stage Left: The Snagglepuss Chronicles by Mark Russell (Writer); Mike Feehan (Artist)
Publication Date: 2018
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: United States. Congress. House. Committee on Un-American Activities -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gays -- Comic books, strips, etc // Communism -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc
Sunstone: Book One by Stjepan Sejic
Publication Date: 2017
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Lesbians -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual dominance and submission -- Comic books, strips, etc
My Lesbian Experience with Loneliness by Kabi Nagata
Publication Date: 2017
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Lesbians -- Japan -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Loneliness -- Case studies -- Comic books, strips, etc // Single women -- Japan -- Biography -- Comic books, strips, etc // Self-actualization (Psychology) -- Case studies -- Comic books, strips, etc // Medicine -- Comic books, strips, etc
America by Gabby Rivera (Writer); Joe Quinones (Illustrator)
Publication Date: 2017
Volumes located in the Arne Nixon Center.
Included Subjects: Women superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // Superheroes -- Comic books, strips, etc. -- Fiction // Good and evil -- Cartoons and comics
Love Is Love: A Comic Book Anthology to Benefit the Survivors of the Orlando Pulse Shooting by Marc Andreyko (Writer); Sarah Gaydos (Editor), Jamie S. Rich (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
Copies located in the Arne Nixon Center and the *Graphic Novel Collection.
Included Subjects: Pulse Nightclub Shooting, Orlando, Fla., 2016 -- Comic books, strips, etc // Victims of hate crimes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Victims of violent crimes -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gays -- Violence against -- Comic books, strips, etc // Sexual minorities -- Violence against -- Comic books, strips, etc
Wuvable Oaf: Blood & Metal by Ed Luce
Publication Date: 2016
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gay men -- Comic books, strips, etc // Bands (Music) -- Comic books, strips, etc // San Francisco (Calif.) -- Comic books, strips, etc
Active Voice the Comic Collection: The Real Life Adventures of an Asian-American, Lesbian, Feminist, Activist and Her Friends by P. Kristen Enos (Writer); Heidi Ho (Writer); Dan Parent (Illustrator); Casandra Grullon (Illustrator); Derek Chua (Illustrator); Beth Varni (Illustrator); Leesamarie Croal (Illustrator); Joseph Amster (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2016
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Enos, P. Kristen -- Comic books, strips, etc // University of California, Irvine -- Students -- Comic books, strips, etc // Lesbian college students -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc // Asian American college students -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc // Gay college students -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc // Women political activists -- California -- Orange County -- Comic books, strips, etc
The Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ and Amal by E. K. Weaver
Publication Date: 2015
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Gay men -- Comic books, strips, etc // Male friendship -- Comic books, strips, etc // Automobile travel -- United States -- Comic books, strips, etc
Snackies by Nick Sumida
Publication Date: 2014
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Comic books, strips, etc
Artifice by Alex Woolfson (Writer); Winona Nelson (Artist)
Publication Date: 2013
Location: *Graphic Novel Collection
Included Subjects: Androids -- Comic books, strips, etc // Artificial intelligence -- Comic books, strips, etc

Books at Other Libraries

Didn't find an item you were looking for? The Fresno State Library offers two options for requesting materials from another library:

CSU+

Find and request books and media from all 23 CSU libraries.
Select the CSU+ Books and Media collection in OneSearch to find and request materials

Interlibrary Loan

Request articles and books not in CSU+ (not textbooks) through interlibrary loan
To request an item, log into your interlibrary loan account, and fill out a new request form

Visit the Library's website for more information on borrowing from other libraries.

Streaming Media

Did you know that the Library has access to these video streaming services for documentaries and research?

Academic Video Online [Alexander Street Press]
Academic Video Online delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
American History in Video
Contains over 5,000 films including documentaries, interviews, newsreels, and more. More than half of the videos are contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s
Films on Demand
Streaming video collection containing videos from multiple subject areas including business, criminal justice, history, and education. The Films on Demand Master Academic Collection contains 10,000+ videos and the Nursing Video Collection contains 800+ videos.
Kanopy
Kanopy provides streaming access to documentaries, independent, and feature films. *Instructors: request access by completing the request form in front of the video, please add a note if needed for multiple semesters*. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, and others. Videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows.
SAGE Research Methods Video
SAGE Research Methods Video has over 480 videos, including hours of tutorials, interviews, video case studies and mini-documentaries covering the entire research process. You can search videos by method (SPSS, ethnography, etc.); by discipline (criminology, economics, nursing, etc.); or by video type (i.e. interview, case studies, etc.).

Visit the Database Subject list for more images and streaming media.

LGBTQ+ Resource Guide

Suggest a Purchase

Ask a Librarian