LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Resource Guide: Community Resources

Crisis Hotlines

CRISIS HOTLINES

If you are in a CRISIS situation and thinking of hurting yourself, or if you are confused or angry, please contact someone at one of the following resources:

988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline
988 three-digit dialing code now active across the United States.
Fresno Cares - Central Valley Suicide Prevention Lifeline
Boys Town National Hotline
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
Trans Lifeline
The Trevor Project

Advocacy & Allies

ADVOCACY & ALLIES

CA vs Hate
Non-emergency hotline support services for victims and witnesses of hate incidents and hate crimes. Part of the California Civil Rights Department.
Courage California
"Courage California, driven by our 1.4 million members, helps our great state reach its potential by calling out institutional corruption and oppression, improving coordination and collaboration between progressive organizations, and demanding that our state and local representatives be both accountable to and reflective of the Californians they seek to serve."
Equality California
"Equality California brings the voices of LGBTQ people and allies to institutions of power in California and across the United States, striving to create a world that is healthy, just, and fully equal for all LGBTQ people. We advance civil rights and social justice by inspiring, advocating, and mobilizing through an inclusive movement that works tirelessly on behalf of those we serve."
Freedom to Marry
"Freedom to Marry was the campaign that won marriage in the United States and ignited a global movement. Freedom to Marry’s 'Roadmap to Victory' national strategy focused from the beginning on setting the stage for a national victory at the Supreme Court by winning a critical mass of states, building a critical mass of public support, and ending federal marriage discrimination. Freedom to Marry worked with numerous partner organizations and allies on a campaign that combined litigation, legislative work, organizing, public education, electoral strategies, fundraising, and the hard work of changing hearts and minds."
Geeks OUT
"A 501(c)(3) nonprofit whose mission is to rally, empower and promote the queer geek community."
Human Rights Campaign
"The Human Rights Campaign represents a force of more than 1.5 million members and supporters nationwide. As the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer civil rights organization, HRC envisions a world where LGBTQ people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community."
The Lavender Effect
"THE LAVENDER EFFECT® is a 501(c)3 nonprofit project of Community Partners that is Advancing the Future of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) Heritage and Culture."
Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights
"The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights is a coalition charged by its diverse membership of more than 200 national organizations to promote and protect the civil and human rights of all persons in the United States. Through advocacy and outreach to targeted constituencies, The Leadership Conference works toward the goal of a more open and just society – an America as good as its ideals."
National Center for Lesbian Rights
"The National Center for Lesbian Rights (NCLR) has been advancing the civil and human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and their families through litigation, legislation, policy, and public education since it was founded in 1977."
National Center for Transgender Equality
"The National Center for Transgender Equality is the nation’s leading social justice advocacy organization winning life-saving change for transgender people."
National LGBTQ Task Force
"The National LGBTQ Task Force advances full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people."
NOH8 Campaign
"The NOH8 Campaign is a charitable organization whose mission is to promote marriage, gender and human equality through education, advocacy, social media, and visual protest."
Rainbow Delegation
"The Rainbow Delegation is an international LGBT+ awareness and visibility program. Operated by Community Link, Inc, an official 5013c nonprofit"
Stop Bullying
"StopBullying.gov provides information from various government agencies on what bullying is, what cyberbullying is, who is at risk, and how you can prevent and respond to bullying."
Strands For Trans
International database of trans-affirming barbershops and salons.

Bars & Clubs

BARS & CLUBS

The Red Lantern
Fresno, CA
Splash Fresno
Fresno, CA

Books & Literary Awards

BOOKS & LITERARY AWARDS

AroAce Database
A database of aromantic and asexual characters in prose fiction.
Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ2S+ Emerging Writers
"The Dayne Ogilvie Prize rewards emerging writers whose body of work demonstrates great potential and who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer."
Gaylactic Spectrum Awards
"The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards honor outstanding works of science fiction, fantasy and horror which include significant positive explorations of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender characters, themes, or issues."
Golden Crown Literary Society
"The Golden Crown Literary Society (GCLS) is a 501(c)3 non-profit, volunteer organization whose mission is education and the promotion and recognition of lesbian literature."
Lambda Literary
"The Lambda Literary Foundation nurtures, celebrates, and preserves LGBT literature through programs that honor excellence, promote visibility and encourage development of emerging writers."
Otherwise Award (formerly James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award)
"The Otherwise Award celebrates science fiction, fantasy, and other forms of speculative narrative that expand and explore our understanding of gender. We encourage each jury to take an expansive view of 'science fiction and fantasy,' considering works that don’t fit into a narrow genre definition. We also seek out works that have a broad, intersectional, trans-inclusive understanding of gender in the context of race, class, nationality, disability, and more."
Prism Comics
"Prism Comics is the leading non-profit, all-volunteer organization supporting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, intersex, asexual and LGBTQIA-friendly comic books, comics professionals, readers and educators."
The Publishing Triangle
"The purpose of the Publishing Triangle is to further the publication of books and other materials written by LGBT authors or with LGBT themes."
Queer Cartoonists Database
A community based database of comics creators.
Also see Cartoonists of Color Database.
Queer Comics Database
"Our mission is to facilitate access to comics that contain queer representation."
Rainbow Book List: GLBT Books for Children & Teens--American Library Association
"The Rainbow Book List is created by the Rainbow Book List Committee of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association. Originally a joint project between the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Roundtable and the Social Responsibilities Round Table, the Rainbow Book List presents an annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age."
Stonewall Book Awards - American Library Association
"The first and most enduring award for GLBT books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table. Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience."

Community Spaces

COMMUNITY SPACES

Billy DeFrank LGBTQ Community Center
"The Billy DeFrank LGBTQ Community Center provides community, leadership, advocacy, services and support to the Silicon Valley’s LGBTQ People and their Allies."
San Jose, CA
Center for Sexuality & Gender Diversity
Formerly known as The Gay & Lesbian Center of Bakersfield.
Fresno Spectrum Center
Connects the community to local resources and provides space for activities and meetings.
Fresno, CA
Rainbow Community Center
"The Rainbow Community Center of Contra Costa County (RCC) builds community and promotes well-being among Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, and Questioning (LGBTQ) people and our allies."
Sacramento LGBT Community Center
"The Sacramento LGBT Community Center works to create a region where LGBTQ people thrive. We support the health and wellness of the most marginalized, advocate for equality and justice, and work to build a culturally rich LGBTQ community."
The Source - Tulare & Kings Counties
"Our MISSION is to provide spaces within our communities for the LGBT+ population to Learn, Grow, Belong, Transform, Question + Support."

Conferences

CONFERENCES

Queer Conferences List - Brown University's LGBTQ Center
Brown University's LGBTQ Center also has conference lists for Queer Youth Conferences (including Not Trans-Specific), Trans Centered Conferences, and Trans Youth-Focused Conferences.
Flame Con
"Geeks of all types are invited to attend and celebrate the diversity and creativity of queer geekdom and LGBTQ contributions to pop culture."
GaymerX
"GaymerX, the first ever LGBTQ-focused gaming convention, is an annual convention focused on games and gaming culture. We focus on creating a fun and safe space for gamers and gaymers of all identities to have fun and hang out with like minded folks. GaymerX is a 'queer space', in that many of the panels revolve around queer issues or queer devs, but GaymerX and the GX events are made for everyone and everyone is welcome!"

Drag & Performance

DRAG & PERFORMANCE

Imperial Dove Court de Fresno
"The Imperial Dove Court De Fresno/Madera Inc. is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization serving the LGBT community for over 44 years in the counties of Fresno, Madera, Tulare, Kings and Kern.Our organization accepts gifts and holds events throughout the year to raise funds to make grants to various charitable both within and outside the LGBTQ community."

Events & Festivals

EVENTS & FESTIVALS

Fresno Reel Pride Film Festival
"Fresno Reel Pride is a celebration of LGBTQ cinema and is a premier cultural event in Central California attracting thousands of attendees, filmmakers and stars to its five day festival of international feature films, documentaries, and shorts."
Fresno's Rainbow Pride Parade and Festival
Kampout Fresno
"Kampout Fresno is an annual event in the Central Valley Gay and Lesbian community."
LGBTI*Q Film Festivals
Google map of film festivals across the world. Created by Skadi Loist, co-founder of the Film Festival Research Network.

Fresno State

FRESNO STATE

Arne Nixon Center LGBTQ Collection
ASPIRE Resource Team
"The ASPIRE Resource Team provides conflict prevention workshops and alternative dispute resolution services to Fresno State students, faculty and staff free of charge."
Bulldog Pride Club
"The Bulldog Pride Fund was established in 2005 with two $50 donations, and officially recognized by the Fresno State Alumni Association in 2006. It has one simple mission: To provide an annuity that supports students attending Fresno State."
Division of Equity and Engagement
Fresno State Rainbow Alumnx and Allies Club
The goals of the club include engaging and connecting with LGBTQ+ alumni and allies in a welcoming environment, supporting campus advocacy and initiatives, plus giving back to the Fresno State Alumni Association and Fresno State.
Fresno State United Student Pride
"United Student Pride is an on-campus student organization at Fresno State which offers activities as well as various opportunities for involvement that have both educational and social value. USP seeks to provide a safe, supportive, and welcoming atmosphere for all students."
Good Samaritan Grant
"A resource for students experiencing unanticipated financial roadblocks that can impact degree completion and well-being."
LGBTQ+ Programs and Services - Cross Cultural and Gender Center
Programs and services include panel discussions, support for LGBTQ+ individuals, promotional awareness campaigns, and others to promote the visibility and awareness of the LGBTQ+ community. The Cross Cultural and Gender Center is located between the Satellite Student Union and the Kennel Bookstore in the Thomas Building, Room 110. Resources include Resources for Transgender Students, Preferred Name Change info, Gender Inclusive Restrooms info, and The Q Clothing Closet providing FREE clothing to trans, gender-nonconforming folks, and anyone else who might need it.
President's Council on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
Student Health and Counseling Center
Student Health and Counseling Center - LGBTQ+ and Gender Affirming Care
Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies at Fresno State

Behavioral Intervention Team (BIT)

"Fresno State is concerned about the health and safety of our students, faculty and staff. We are committed to providing an environment where individuals are free to learn, teach, and work uninhibited by threats of intimidation or harm.

BIT is comprised of three sub-groups/teams of members from across the university whose purpose is to support students, faculty, and staff who may have a concern about another member of the Fresno State community. The three teams include:

Campus Assessment, Response, & Evaluation (CARE)
Sexual Assault and Relationship Violence Response Team (SART)
Threat Assessment & Risk Prediction (TARP)

Click on the links below for more information on BIT and its three teams, including online referral forms and contact information. In the case of an emergency please call 911."

Behavioral Intervention Team (BIT)
Campus Assessment, Response, & Evaluation (CARE)
"The mission of CARE Team is to provide collaborative approach for coordinating a supportive response to students who are facing significant personal struggles, in distress, or students of concern."
Sexual Assault and Relationship Violence Response Team (SART)
"The mission of SART is to address sexual violence, dating/domestic violence and stalking through the creation and coordination of crisis intervention and response protocols which construct a positive community culture that promotes healthy and respectful interactions and safety for all."
Threat Assessment & Risk Prediction (TARP)

Groups & Organizations

GROUPS & ORGANIZATIONS

Community Link
"Since 1988 Community Link has been providing services to the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Trans-gendered communities of the Central Valley."
Fresno City College LGBTQ Spectrum Club
"Fresno City College LGBTQ Spectrum Club is the only LGBTQ Club on campus!"
Fresno Economic Opportunities Commission - LGBTQ+ Resource Center
"LGBTQ+ Resource Center provides supportive services to enhance the health and well being of individuals of all ages in the LGBTQ+ community. Serving all individuals in the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, non-binary, queer, HIV, and questioning community members in the Fresno County area."
Fresno Fresbians
"This is a social group for Fresno's Friendly Neighborhood Lesbians. This group started with a group of about 15 people who met through craigslist in my attempt to organize a coffee night to meet other lesbians in Fresno. Since its start in January 2009, the group has grown with over 1,300 friends in our facebook network."
Fresno Pride Lions Club
"Lions Clubs International is the world's largest service club organization with more than 1.4 million members in approximately 46,000 clubs in more than 200 countries and geographical areas around the world."
Gaymers of Fresno
"An all inclusive group of gamers (video, board, miniature, RPG) in the LGBTQ community to socialize and support each other."
Gray Alliance Fresno
"Gray Alliance is a non-profit group of seniors ranging from 50 & up. You do not have to be exactly 50 or 100 years of age to join us. Membership is currently over 50 members and constantly growing."
LGBT+ Central Valley
"This NEW Facebook page was created by Gay Central Valley so that LGBT+ people, allies and groups can post news and events that is of interest to all of us."
Merced LGBTQ Alliance
"We exist to contribute to and enrich the cultural life and expression of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) persons, their families, friends, and supporters through awareness and education of the diversity and history of the LGBTQ community in California’s Central Valley."
POW! Professional Out Women
"Professional OUT Women (POW) is a community of women that gather at monthly events, happening at rotating locations, for networking and socializing."
Fresno, CA
Trans-E-Motion
"We honor and celebrate the lives of Transgender and Gender Diverse persons, both past and present; to bring about social change for the benefit of the community through activities, outreach, and events that provide education, advocacy and support to all."
Fresno, CA
Visalia Pride Lions Club
"The Visalia Pride Lions Club chartered on December 22, 2009. We are made up of LGBT+/Friendly members who desire to serve the community, and make a difference!"
Yosemite Knights K of M Fresno
"We're a social leather & levi club, mostly made up of GLBT folks, but with some straight members, men and women alike."

Health

HEALTH

California LGBTQ Health and Human Services Network
"The California LGBTQ Health & Human Services Network is an LGBTQ-specific program of Health Access, bringing together more than 60 non-profit providers, community centers, and researchers to advocate collectively for state level policies and resources that will advance LGBTQ health."
Center of Excellence for Transgender Health
"The mission of the Center of Excellence for Transgender Health is to increase access to comprehensive, effective, and affirming health care services for trans communities."
Consumer Affairs
Compare reviews for drug and alcohol rehab.
Covered California
"Covered California is the place where Californians can get brand-name health insurance under the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act."
Each Mind Matters - LGBTQ+
Each Mind Matters' collection of LGBTQ+ resources focused on mental health.
Fresno County Department of Public Health
Fresno County Department of Public Health - Sexual Health
Healthcare Equity Index
"The Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is the national LGBTQ benchmarking tool that evaluates healthcare facilities’ policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBTQ patients, visitors and employees."
Health Labs - Hormone Testing
"Fast, Private & Affordable Lab Testing"
The Living Room
"The Living Room, a project of WestCare California, is dedicated to encouraging and supporting the well-being and empowerment of persons infected, affected and at risk for HIV/AIDS. The Living Room’s many programs focus on improving the quality and availability of HIV-specific services for all residents of Fresno County."
National Coalition of LGBT Health
"The Coalition is committed to improving the health and well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals through federal and local advocacy, education, and research. The Coalition strives to address the entire LGBT community, including individuals of every sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, race, ethnicity, and age regardless of disability, income, education, and geography."
Planned Parenthood
"Planned Parenthood Mar Monte improves and transforms the lives of over 220,000 women, men and children every year throughout mid-California and Northern Nevada.

With over 30 health centers, we provide a range of reproductive and general health services including birth control, pregnancy testing and options counseling, STD testing and treatment, HIV testing, breast and cervical cancer screening, abortion, pediatrics and adult primary health care."
Planned Parenthood - Sexual Orientation & Gender
Positive Life Fresno
"Our desire is to hear client's concerns, to educate, support and empower individuals with the knowledge needed to advocate for themselves and others who are infected or affected by HIV and AIDS. Our goal is to support the HIV positive people and help them find their voice in the Central San Joaquin Valley of California."
Safe and Affirmative Counseling
Provides LGBTQIA+ counseling services in Fresno, CA.
WestCare
"WestCare, a family of tax-exempt nonprofit organizations, provides a wide spectrum of health and human services in both residential and outpatient environments. Our services include substance abuse and addiction treatment, homeless and runaway shelters, domestic violence treatment and prevention, and mental health programs. These services are available to adults, children, adolescents, and families; we specialize in helping people traditionally considered difficult to treat, such as those who are indigent, have multiple disorders, or are involved with the criminal justice system."

Higher Education

HIGHER EDUCATION

Campus Pride
"Campus Pride envisions campuses and a society free of anti-LGBTQ prejudice, bigotry and hate. It works to develop student leaders, campus networks, and future actions to create such positive change."
Fresno State Resources

Legal Services & Resources

LEGAL SERVICES & RESOURCES

ACLU - Fresno Chapter
"The Fresno Chapter is working to protect and advance civil liberties and civil rights in Fresno."
Central California Legal Services, INC.
"By maintaining a focus on its clients’ legal needs and the integrity of its services, an expert staff serves thousands of eligible clients in the counties of Fresno, Tulare, Kings, Merced, Tuolumne, Mariposa, senior citizens in Madera County, and on health-related cases in several other counties. Today, CCLS employs a staff of over sixty individuals with offices in the cities of Fresno, Merced and Visalia."
Fresno County Clerk - Marriage Licenses
Hate Crimes Task Forces
"Since its inception in 1994, the Greater Sacramento Area Hate Crimes Task Force has brought a diverse group of community leaders together with federal, state and local law enforcement officials to form a united front in our District’s effort to combat hate crimes."
Lambda Legal
"Lambda Legal, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit, is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and everyone living with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work."
Oasis Legal Services
A nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization that provides immigration legal services for the LGBTQ+ community, located in Berkeley and Fresno.
Transgender Law Center
"Transgender Law Center works to change law, policy, and attitudes so that all people can live safely, authentically, and free from discrimination regardless of their gender identity or expression."
United States Attorney - Fresno Office
"The United States Attorney's Office for the Eastern District of California represents the federal government in virtually all litigation involving the United States in the Eastern District of California."

Media & Representation

MEDIA & REPRESENTATION

Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary
"The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés."
GLAAD
"GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change. GLAAD protects all that has been accomplished and creates a world where everyone can live the life they love."
It's a Queer Thang - Local Monthly Radio Show
"Monthly radio show featuring News, Music and Entertainment from LGBT community, local and beyond!"
Fresno, CA
LOGO
"Logo is a leading entertainment brand inspired by the LGBTQ community and reflects the creative class across television, digital and social platforms. Logo features one-of-a-kind personalities, shows, specials, and unique stories."
Media Matters
"Media Matters for America is a Web-based, not-for-profit, 501(c)(3) progressive research and information center dedicated to comprehensively monitoring, analyzing, and correcting conservative misinformation in the U.S. media."
Pride Radio
Music and information for the LGBT Community.
Queerly Represent Me
"Queerly Represent Me is a consultation and research organisation. We work with companies to consult on their games, events, and studio culture, and use proceeds from these contracts to provide free resources and services to the wider community, particularly to give a voice to queer developers and support the creation of queer content."

News & Publications

NEWS & PUBLICATIONS

The Advocate
Community Alliance
"The Community Alliance is an independent voice for workers and progressive groups in the Central San Joaquin Valley. The goal of this monthly newspaper is to build a powerful progressive movement that will support social, environmental, and economic justice; immigrant rights; and a living wage for all people. We seek to expose social and political injustices and to link the diverse network of activists working in our community."
Gay Central Valley
"LGBTQ+ blog serving Central California"
Huffington Post Queer Voices
Lesbian News
"Lesbian News - or as is more commonly known, the LN - has the distinction and responsibility of being North America’s longest running lesbian publication."
LGBT Fresno
"Gay Fresno is an all volunteer not-for-profit website that operates alongside: Gay Visalia, Gay Porterville, Gay Merced, Gay Hanford and Gay Bakersfield.

The premier and longest operating local LGBT news, resource and information blog & website. Serving the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender community since January of 2004."
LGBT Hanford
"Gay Hanford is an all volunteer not-for-profit website that operates alongside: Gay Fresno, Gay Visalia, Gay Porterville, Gay Merced and Gay Bakersfield."
LGBT Porterville
"Gay Porterville is an all volunteer, not-for-profit website that operates alongside:Gay Fresno,Gay Visalia,Gay Hanford,Gay Mercedand Gay Bakersfield."
News Link
"NEWS LINK is a community newspaper, first published in 1995. It contains GLBT-relevant news (local and beyond) on politics, marriage, religion, youth, health; plus local columns: Waterhouse Report, Horoscopes, Reelly Queer Movies, Queereadings, Heatstroke, Ask Uncle Barbie, TransBear's MaleBox, North Valley & South Valley Link and many others."
Fresno, CA
Outweek Magazine Internet Archive
"This site contains the entire 105 issues of OutWeek Magazine, published in New York from June, 1989 to July, 1991.

OutWeek Magazine was the seminal lesbian and gay publication during the peak era of AIDS activism in the late 80s and early 90s."
Pink Pages
"The Pink Pages is an annual Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual community resource and business directory serving the Central Valley Communities."
POZ
"POZ is an award-winning print and online brand for people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS. Offering unparalleled editorial excellence since 1994, POZ magazine and POZ.com are identified by our readers as their most trusted sources of information about the disease."

Politics

POLITICS

California Voter Registration
Fresno Stonewall Democrats
"Fresno Stonewall Democrats is a Chartered Club of the Democratic Party’s County Central Committee. The Club is devoted to advancing the equal rights of all people, regardless of sexual orientation, preference, or identity. Fresno Stonewall Democrats support the Democratic Party and those Democratic Candidates who support our mission."
MoveOn
"MoveOn is made up of two organizations: MoveOn.org Civic Action, a 501(c)(4) nonprofit organization focusing on education and advocacy, providing civic engagement tools to the public, and building the progressive movement by encouraging and supporting the development of more grassroots leaders. MoveOn.org Political Action, meanwhile is a federal PAC focused on running powerful progressive advocacy campaigns and demonstrating MoveOn members’ power at the ballot box by electing candidates who reflect MoveOn members’ values."
Rock the Vote
"Rock the Vote is a nonpartisan nonprofit dedicated to building the political power of young people."

Religion Spirituality & Secularism

RELIGION SPIRITUALITY & SECULARISM

Central Valley Alliance of Atheists and Skeptics
Community United Church of Christ
"We are a progressive church. Our denomination, United Church of Christ, has an impressive history of 'firsts': first denomination to ordain an African American pastor, first to ordain a woman pastor and first to ordain an openly gay pastor (and we are proud that our founding pastor, Reverend Henry Hayden, performed this ordination)."
First Congregational Church of Fresno
"We believe that all people are sacred creations of a loving God. We affirm the diversity that exists among us. We strive to answer the call of Christ by extending his love, compassion and acceptance to everyone. In this spirit, we open our family of faith to people of every religious background, sexual orientation, family composition, physical and mental ability, race, age and gender."
Hope Lutheran Church
Hope's mission is to "Extend Hope in Jesus." We are a Reconciling in Christ congregation that welcomes members of the LGBTQ community as well as people of all races and ethnicities. Everyone is welcome.
Muslim Youth Leadership Council
"The Muslim Youth Leadership Council (MyLC) is a group of Muslim-identifying people ages 17-24 from across the country, working locally and nationally as activists, organizers, writers, leaders and more to promote LGBTQ rights, immigrant rights, and sexual and reproductive health and rights for Muslims."

MyLC has compiled a document resource guide for LGBTQ+ Muslim youth. Download the PDF document on Google Drive.
New Thought Community
Fresno Interfaith Community
The Secular Therapy Project
"The purpose of the Secular Therapy Project is to help connect non-religious or secular persons who need mental health services with outstanding mental health professionals, such as psychologists, psychiatrists, counselors, and others. Using our system is simple and requires very little information from you. Our goal is to protect your confidentiality until you find a therapist to correspond with or to work with."
Temple Beth Israel
"TBI is a reform Jewish congregation serving Fresno, Clovis and the surrounding areas. We welcome new and existing Jewish families and individuals to join our Temple and participate in temple life!"
Unitarian Universalist Church of Fresno
"The Unitarian Universalist Church of Fresno is a welcoming religious community whose mission is to promote personal and spiritual growth as we work together for a more peaceful, sustainable, and socially just world."
Unity Church of Fresno
"We follow spirit's guidance to educate, inspire and empower those who seek to live in alignment with universal truth."
Wesley United Methodist Church
"We are a community of people from many different walks of life, who believe that God has drawn us together to be the visible sign of God’s wildly inclusive love. We believe that God asks us to boldly share God’s love with all people as we seek to follow the path of Jesus."

Research & Studies

RESEARCH & STUDIES

American Institute of Bisexuality
"Bisexual.org is a project meant to introduce our community to the world. With this site, we hope to give a voice to the bisexual community, share accurate information, answer questions, and provide resources to learn more."
Digital Transgender Archive
Collection of historical transgender related materials made available online.
Gender Equality Resource Center - Terminology
"These terms were last updated in July 2013. For the most complete definitions, we encourage you to compare what you find here with information from other sources as language in our communities is often an evolving process, and there may be regional differences. Please be aware that these terms may be defined with outdated language or concepts."
GLBT Historical Society
"The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity."
glbtq Encyclopedia Project Archives
"glbtq.com, which housed the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture, closed on August 1, 2015. Most of the encyclopedia's entries, essays, and interviews have been archived online."
LGBTQ Heritage Theme Study
"LGBTQ America: A Theme Study of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer History is a publication of the National Park Foundation for the National Park Service and funded by the Gill Foundation. Each chapter is written and peer-reviewed by experts in LGBTQ Studies."
LGBTQIA Archives :: San Francisco Public Library
LGBTQ Video Game Archive
"This 'archive' of LGBTQ video game content is meant to be a resource for researchers, journalists, critics, game designers/developers/publishers, students, gamers and/or people who play games and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the history of LGBTQ content in video games."
LGBT Religious Archives Network
"The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Religious Archives Network (LGBT-RAN) coordinates and supports the identification, collection and preservation of personal papers and organizational records from lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender religious movements. To encourage scholarly research and historical study of these important movements for social change, LGBT-RAN disseminates information about these records and provides and facilitates access to them, using digital technology when possible."
LGBTStats - Williams Institute Blog
"Facts and figures about the LGBT community from Williams Institute policy analysts and social scientists. A snapshot of our high-quality research with real-world relevance."
MAP
"Founded in 2006, the Movement Advancement Project is an independent think tank that provides rigorous research, insight and analysis that help speed equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people."
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries
"It is the mission of ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries to collect, preserve, and make accessible LGBTQ historical materials while promoting new scholarship on and public awareness of queer histories."
Queerness & Games
"Bringing together video games and discussions of LGBTQ issues has been central to Bonnie’s work. She continues her dedication to queer community activism and the emerging field of Queer Game Studies through her publications, teaching, editing, and organizing."
Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
"The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."

Shelters & Housing

SHELTERS & HOUSING

California/U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Fair Housing Council of Central California
"The Fair Housing Council of Central California is a professional, non-profit, civil rights organization dedicated to the elimination of discrimination in housing and the expansion of housing opportunities for all persons."
Fresno Economic Opportunities Commission - Sanctuary Transitional Shelter
"Sanctuary Transitional Shelter operates an overnight shelter and daytime drop-in center for homeless or otherwise displaced youth and young adults [ages 18-24]."
Fresno Economic Opportunities Commission - Sanctuary Youth Shelter
"Since 1992, Sanctuary Youth Shelter has been the area’s recognized safe place center for runaway, homeless, exploited or displaced youth. The shelter is located in a central area of Fresno, accessible 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The shelter will address the immediate needs of the youth such as shelter, clothing, meals, counseling and referrals with additional case managed care that will focus on family reunification, strengthening family bonds or transitioning to safe and appropriate alternative living arrangements."
Marjaree Mason Center
"Marjaree Mason Center supports and empowers adults and their children affected by domestic violence, while striving to prevent and end the cycle of abuse through education and advocacy.

Marjaree Mason Center is Fresno County's only dedicated provider of domestic violence shelter and support services, including education for victims and youth."
Naomi's House Fresno
"Naomi’s House is a 40-bed, overnight shelter for single, homeless women. It was created in 2002 by a group of concerned community members who observed a lack of services to meet the needs of Fresno’s homeless women."
Poverello House
"Believing in the dignity of every person, at Poverello House we work to enrich the lives and spirits of all who pass our way by stewarding the resources made available to us through Providential and community support."

Sports

SPORTS

Athlete Ally
"Athlete Ally is a nonprofit organization working to build a future where sports welcome everyone, without prejudice or stereotypes, by educating and activating athletic communities to exercise their leadership to champion LGBT equality."
Queer Volleyball
"Queer Volley Ball started in 2003 as a way of getting Fresno's GLBT community involved in active recreation."
Rainbow Bowling League
"Rainbow Bowling League started in October 2007 as a way of keeping recreational activities going in the fall and winter, when it's too cold for our Queer Volleyball games outside."
You Can Play
"You Can Play is dedicated to ensuring equality, respect and safety for all athletes, without regard to sexual orientation and/or gender identity."

Youth & Parenting

YOUTH & PARENTING

Advocates for Youth
"Established in 1980 as the Center for Population Options, Advocates for Youth champions efforts that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health."
Allie the Ally
"A project to demonstrate the support available to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning (LGBTQ) youth around the world."
Angels of Grace Foster Family Agency
"Angels of Grace Foster Family Agency is an agency that provides a place of refuge and healing for foster children. A place where they can receive the nurturing and care that they need from professional social workers and trained foster parents."
Fresno, CA
BeLonG To
"BeLonG To Youth Services is the national organisation supporting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI+) young people in Ireland."
Californians for Justice
"Californians for Justice is a statewide grassroots organization working for racial justice by building the power of youth, communities of color, immigrants, low-income families, and LGBTQ communities. Led by students, we organize to advance educational justice and improve our social, economic, and political conditions."
California Youth Connection
"California Youth Connection (CYC) is a youth led organization that develops leaders who empower each other and their communities to transform the foster care system through legislative, policy, and practice change."
COLAGE
"COLAGE unites people with lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and/or queer parents and caregivers into a network of peers and supports them as they nurture and empower each other to be skilled, self-confident, and just leaders in our collective communities."
EPU Children’s Center
"Our mission of EPU Children’s Center is to strengthen and empower children and families facing extraordinary medical, developmental, and parenting challenges."
Fresno, CA
Fresno Barrios Unidos
"Fresno Barrios Unidos provides unconditional support, love and guidance for youth, young adults and their families in Fresno."
Fresno, CA
Fresno GLBTQ Youth Alliance
"The Fresno Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Youth Alliance was created to offer Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning Youth a safe and substance free environment where they can be themselves, express their concerns and discuss issues of importance that affect their lives."
Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
"GLSEN (pronounced 'glisten') was founded in 1990 by a small, but dedicated group of teachers in Massachusetts who came together to improve an education system that too frequently allows its lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and questioning (LGBTQ) students to be bullied, discriminated against, or fall through the cracks."
Gay Straight Alliance Network (GSA)
"GSA Network is a next-generation LGBTQ racial and gender justice organization that empowers and trains queer, trans and allied youth leaders to advocate, organize, and mobilize an intersectional movement for safer schools and healthier communities."
Gender Spectrum
"Gender Spectrum’s mission is to create a gender-inclusive world for all children and youth. To accomplish this, we help families, organizations, and institutions increase understandings of gender and consider the implications that evolving views have for each of us."
It Gets Better
"It Gets Better is a nonprofit organization with a mission to uplift, empower, and connect lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer youth around the globe. Learn more about our work."
Kids Like Us
"As a project of Community Link, Kids Like Us is Fresno's Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender parenting group. We have planned bowling nights, zoo sleepovers, water park fun days, etc. We have parents, Aunt & Uncles, Grandparents, etc, that bring kids from newborns to college aged youth to our events. We have over 90 families and we are always looking for event ideas."
The kNOw Youth Media
"Mission: To support and equip young people with the journalism and advocacy skills they need to tell their stories and the stories of their communities."
Fresno, CA
Pacific Clinics
"Pacific Clinics is California’s largest community-based nonprofit provider of behavioral and mental health services and supports."
PFLAG Bakersfield
"PFLAG is the largest organization uniting people who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer with families and allies."
Bakersfield, CA Chapter
PFLAG Fresno
"PFLAG Fresno is a volunteer group of parents, family and friends of people who are gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (GLBT). We welcome all caring persons, including the GLBT community to our meetings and membership."
PFLAG Tulare and Kings Counties
"PFLAG Tulare and Kings Counties is a volunteer group of parents, family and friends of people who are gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender (GLBT). We welcome members of the GLBT community to our meetings and membership."
Rainbow Families Council
"The mission of Rainbow Families is to build a community which fosters resiliency by connecting, supporting and empowering LGBTIQA+ families."
Students and Gender Identity
“USC Rossier has created 'Students and Gender Identity: A Guide for Schools,' which is a collection of tools and resources to support conversations surrounding gender identity in the classroom. Through this guide, we hope to help teachers, school counselors and school communities work together to create a safe and nurturing school climate for all students.”
TransKids Purple Rainbow Foundation (TKPRF)
"Transkids Purple Rainbow Foundation wants to spread the message of tolerance, acceptance and unconditional love which are a birthright for all transkids."
Trans Student Educational Resources (TSER)
"Trans Student Educational Resources is a youth-led organization dedicated to transforming the educational environment for trans and gender nonconforming students through advocacy and empowerment."
The Trevor Project Media
"The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning youth.

If you or someone you know needs help, call The Trevor Lifeline at 866.488.7386. It's toll-free and confidential. Trained counselors are standing by to listen without judgment 24/7."
Welcoming Schools
"Human Rights Campaign Foundation's Welcoming Schools is the nation's premier professional development program providing training to elementary school educators to:

- Welcome Diverse Families
- Create LGBTQ and Gender Inclusive Schools
- Prevent Bias-Based Bullying
- Support Transgender and Non-Binary Students"

LGBTQ+ Resource Guide

Categories: