Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Research Guide

For Career Center Department and Students interested in finding more about career research and resources in the Library

Welcome!

This guide offer resources to cover the area of Career Research!

General Career Research Resources

Resources for Career Research

California Career Zone

California Career Zone offers career and industry information tailored toward California. The website has an “Assess Yourself” function in which users are able to assess their interests and match up their interest codes with careers in the database. It also provides “Get a Reality Check” to create a budget with respect to the living expenses in a city of choice within California.

CareerOneStop Portal

Maintained by the U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration, this site contains an extensive amount of career, salary, education, and job search information.

Career Outlook

The Bureau of Labor Statistics in the U.S. Department of Labor offers articles with data and information on various career-focused topics, such as occupations, industries, pay, and benefits, that are helpful for students career counselors, and job seekers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is also maintained by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and offers an extensive listing of careers and information on daily tasks, education required, salary, and job outlook. The handbook is revised every two years to ensure up to date information.

O*NET

This site, also maintained by the U.S. Department of Labor, is able to assess job seekers' skills, values, abilities, and interests and match them up with career information in the extensive database. This site makes the information from the Occupational Outlook Handbook interactive as you are able to reach it through a variety of searches, not just alphabetically.

The Riley Guide

The Riley Guide introduces you to the online job search, listing many online sites and resources that are helpful for your search. This site also provides links to insightful articles on various job search needs such as resume writing and interviewing.

Explore Majors & Careers

Click on this portion of the Career Development Center website to link Fresno State Majors and Degrees to potential career paths and resources.

Salary Information

Salary.com

In addition to the salary information you can find in the above sites, you can also find salary information specific to your zip code through the use of Salary.com