Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Demographic Research Guide

Library Databases for Demogaphics & Psychographics

Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)

Business Source Ultimate (an upgrade of Business Source Complete) offers more comprehensive full-text access to journals published in business disciplines, including management, marketing, finance, accounting, and economics.

Data Axle Reference Solutions

Data Axle (formerly known as ReferenceUSA) provides access to over 24 million businesses, including local small-scale businesses, and 235 million consumer data compiled from thousands of sources.

IBISWorld

 IBISWorld provides in-depth reports on more than 1,200 major and specialized industries in the U.S. and worldwide. Each report consists of 30–40 pages of detailed industry analysis, including service/product analysis, market characteristics, demand determinants, and major markets and customers.

Mergent Intellect: Demographics

Partnering with Nielsen, Mergent Intellect provides a variety of demographics reports such as:
- PRIZM reports that offer information on 66 demographics and behavior types
- Nielsen Pop-Fact reports that help analyze consumer demands and markets for future product developments

PolicyMap

A GIS-based database for online mapping with data on demographics, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, and health in communities across the U.S.

Business Analyst Online (ESRI)

Business Analyst Online combines demographic and business data, detailed maps, and advanced spatial analytics with your own data to help answer "where" questions such as: Where should I locate my new store? Where is my competition? Where do my target customers live?

NOTE: Under the license agreement, ESRI resources may be used for educational, teaching, and research purposes only, and it requires a special access code. Please contact Hiromi Kubo or Library Research Help Desk (278-2174) for further information.

Open Data Resources

U.S. Census Bureau

Data.census.gov

American Community Survey

U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics

Consumer Expenditures - Survey data (collected by the Census Bureau) and reports are available.

Time Spent - According to the American Time Use Survey, people between 20 and 24 years old spend about 10 minutes a day for reading. Ugh!

Statistical Abstracts of the United States - Nerdy as this sounds, if the library were on fire, this is the book I'd grab on the way out!  Fortunately, it is also online. The US government counts everything.  If you are looking for the number of tons exported to Korea in 2007 (4.5 billion) or how many gas stations also sell cigarettes (92,000), this is the place to look.

California Demographic Reports - CA Department of Finance.

Fresno Community Scorecard - The Fresno Community Scorecard is a free online resource offering various data about the Fresno County in the following 11 categories: people, agriculture, culture & quality of life, economic vitality, education, equity, health, housing, safe community, strong families, and sustainable infrastructure.

AARP (American Association of Retired Persons)

City-Data.com

Gallup

New Strategist Press

NPD Group - Great resource for marketing reports and sales information.

Pew Research Center

PRIZM - Nielsen's lifestyle segmentation by zip code

Social Explorer - Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present, all in maps.

Worldmeters - This site displays various world statistics in real time.

Recommended Books

Public Opinion

Field Research Corporation -The Field Poll*  The Field (California) Poll has operated continuously since 1947 as an independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service and has issued over 2,300 different reports. During its long history, The Field Poll has acquired a national reputation as a consistently reliable and authoritative source of public opinion trends in California.

Roper Center for Public Opinion Research*  Several thousand polls taken in the U.S. and some 70 foreign countries are housed in the Roper Center's library. They cover virtually all aspects of social sciences, ranging from civil liberties, crime, education, health, racial and ethnic minorities, to religion, women and women’s issues. Data is added constantly to the domestic and international collections of survey data. This is by far the most complete collection of public opinion information in existence.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research Data Holdings (ICPSR)* The data provided by ICPSR are available to support research in the social sciences, including (but not limited to) economics and finance, population studies, sociology, health care, education, politics and governmental studies. Includes data sets provided by governmental and non-governmental agencies, as well as data sets from privately and publicly funded research, opinion polls and other studies.

Pew Research Center  "Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research."

Urban Institute  "the Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government."

 

Student Data in Higher Education

Fresno State Office of Institutional Effectiveness (OIE) - Student demographics of Fresno State.

CSU Analytic Studies - Student data from the 23 CSU campuses.

Student Data: Chronicle of Higher Education - National data and its analysis on students in higher education.

National Higher Education Data (links)

Open Doors: Institute of International Education - Data on international students and scholars in the U.S. as well as U.S. students studying abroad.

Questions?

Chat with a librarian or call the Information Desk at (559) 278-2174 anytime the library is open (Library Hours).