Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literatures in English Research Guide

Library research guide for English majors and students taking English courses

English 189 - Shakespeare

English 189 

This page includes resources that are unique for Shakespeare studies and could be useful for students enrolled in English 189. However, please consult the other pages in this guide for information on finding scholarly articles, books, and primary sources for this and any other English literature class. 

Questions? Please don't hesitate to send me an email (contact info on the bottom left of this page). 

LCSH

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) can be a helpful way to find books on your particular topic. A subject heading is a specific word or phrase used to find and organize books and articles by topic. In the online catalog these are found in a book or other item's catalog record (the information you get after clicking on the title). You can click directly on the subject heading to get a list of books on the same subject. 

If, after a keyword search, you find a book that is perfect for your research, take a look at the book's subject headings linked from the catalog record. Click on these to find other books at the library on the same subject. 



Here are some possibly helpful Library of Congress Subject Headings that you can use for your research on Shakespeare: 

eBooks

Selected eBooks on Shakespeare

The library has many great eBooks on Shakespeare studies. These books are available electronically and can be accessed by Fresno State users through the library catalog. Visit this link to view some of the many eBooks that the library has available. Click on the link that says "Electronic Resource" to view the book online. You will need to log in using your Fresno State email and password. 



Some examples of eBooks you'll find in the library include:

Shakespeare on Film

Shakespeare on Film 

National Theatre Collection Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT’s Archive, the National Theatre Collection is now complete and contains 30 filmed performances. Access will only be available until December 31, 2020.
 

BBC Shakespeare Plays [Ambrose Video] is a database of videos that the library subscribes to. Click on the link to log in with your Fresno State email/password. The collection includes a series of British television adaptions of the plays of William Shakespeare originally aired between 1978 to 1985. All 37 productions are available here. These productions used traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time (1564 to 1616) or in the period of the events depicted (such as ancient Rome for Julius Caesar) and featured many of the most renowned Shakespearean actors.

EEBO

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Early English Books Online [ProQuest] Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. 

Shakespeare's Language

Web sites

Websites Devoted to Shakespeare

Remember that websites aren't often the best source for reliable information--and you cannot use them as a source for your paper in this class. However, they can be a great place to get ideas and find out what others think about a particular subject. Here are a few selected sites that I think are interesting.