Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Grants and Funding Sources

Important Notice

Foundation Directory Online and Foundation Grants to Individuals is no Longer Available via Henry Madden Library

Fresno State is facing a multi-year reduction in state funding due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, the campus pivot to primarily virtual instruction will continue through the end of spring semester 2021. In light of these unprecedented challenges, the library has reviewed its collections expenditures to control costs. Please see here for more information. Unfortunately, due to this financial situation, the Henry Madden Library subscription to the Foundation Directory Online (FDO) resource will not be renewed. However, the FDO and other Candid resources can be accessed via the Funding Information Network (FIN) member sites, including Fresno County Public Library.

Resources for Searching for Funding Sources

California Grants Portal Updated weekly
A centralized grant portal for all grants issued by California state agencies

Foundation Directory Online  Updated monthly

Due to the pandemic and ongoing closures of many public libraries, Candid has made the FDO Essential available online for free via their FIN members.  See here for information on accessing via Fresno County Library
Available via monthly/annual subscription, or free via Funding Information Network members (including Fresno County Public Library). Information about the largest 10,000 public and private foundations in the U.S. and links to foundation web sites. Full text access from more than 250,000 IRS 990 forms, 80,000 detailed funder profiles, half a million recently awarded grants, RFPs, key staff affiliations, publications, news, and job postings.

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online  Updated weekly
Targeted to those not affiliated with a tax-exempt organization, such as artists, students, and researchers. Available via monthly subscription, or free via Funding Information Network members (including Fresno County Public Library). Information compiled from IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF, foundation web sites, annual reports, printed application guidelines, the philanthropic press, and various other sources.

Grants.Gov Updated daily, mobile app available
"A centralized location for grant seekers to find and apply for federal funding opportunities. The Grants.gov system houses information on over 1,000 grant programs and vets grant applications for federal grant-making agencies."

Candid Resources to Support the Philanthropic Sector

Candid Learning (formerly Grantspace.org)

 A free resource from Candid, GrantSpace covers a range of critical topics for those seeking grants, funding, or information about the non-profit/fundraising community.

Training: Includes live and recorded webinars, presentations, and eLearning courses on topics ranging from grantwriting to leadership to donor relations.  Note: Not all training resources are free.

Topics: A searchable and browseable collection of articles, sample documents, and impact-measures organized around topics such as Proposal Writing, Fundraising, and Starting a Nonprofit.

Resources: Several collections of resources for nonprofits, including sample documents and the Collaboration Hub.

Philanthropy News Digest
Includes Requests for Proposals (RFPs) by sector; philanthropic sector news; training and workshop announcements; job postings; and reports and other in-depth content

Candid Newsletters
Sign up to receive a variety of free email newsletters of your choice.