Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music 171 -- Introduction to the World's Music -- Dr. Donald Henriques

Department description

Music & Media contains the Ronald J. Harlan Music Collection of scores and sound recordings, a media collection of videorecordings, and listening and viewing facilities. Books about music are located in the main bookstack.

Four computer workstations with graphic design software, and two workstations with music compostion software are available for student use.

The music collection consists of approximately 22,000 compact discs, 40,000 stereo and monaural LPs and 47,000 scores. The collection focuses mainly on Western art music from the Middle Ages to the present, but also contains representative scores and recordings in the areas of jazz, musical comedy, popular music and music from other cultures. There are also spoken recordings containing poetry, plays and speeches.

The media collection consists of more than 7,000 videos (DVD and VHS) of educational and research value in all subject areas.

Music 171 Special Resources

Archive of Indian Music

Archive of early recordings of various types of Indian Music transcribed from wax cylinders, gramophone shellacs (78 RPMs), and vinyl LPs.

Atlas of Plucked Instruments

An encyclopedia of all the world's plucked instruments of lute, guitar, banjo and mandolin type. Based on a large private collection of plucked stringed musical instruments (plus additional material from books and websites), this ATLAS will give you information about almost all the different plucked instruments still in use.

Land of Winds

A digital magazine covering Andean music and its human and natural landscapes.

Musical Instrument Museums Online

The world's largest freely accessible database for information on musical instruments held in public collections.

Smithsonian Folkways

The nonprofit record label of the Smithsonian Institution, dedicated to supporting cultural diversity and increased understanding among peoples through the documentation, preservation, and dissemination of sound.

Virtual Instrument Museum

Among universities, Wesleyan University has one of the largest and most diverse collections of world musical instruments. It contains three classes of holdings: daily-use instructional instruments and sets of instruments (e.g. gamelan, Ghanian drums, steelband); instruments brought to Wesleyan by students, alumni and faculty; and donated instruments.

General Information

Music & Media is located on the 3rd floor of the north wing of the Library at the top of the stairs.

Listening and viewing equipment is available for individuals or small groups. Two group viewing rooms are now open that can accommodate from four to 20 users. Scores and videos are on open shelves for users to browse. Compact discs, LPs and reserve materials may be requested at the service desk. Eight iMacs are available in the department for general use and the Media Lab offers four iMacs with specialized graphics design software.

Please come see us if you haven't already.  As always you can phone us for assistance:  278-2158 

Please consult the main library hours page for complete library hours.