The map collection has worldwide coverage with a focus on California and the Central Valley.
Our aerial photography collection focuses primarily on Fresno County, and dates back to 1937.
We also have large collections of atlases and gazetteers.
The core map collection consists of maps published by U.S. federal and California state agencies such as the US and California Geological Surveys, most of which are acquired through the U.S. and California depository library programs.
We welcome community use of our resources.
Access to physical material in the Map and Aerial Photograph Collections is by appointment only.
Please contact Sam Hidde Tripp with questions about the Map and Aerial Photograph collections: hiddetripp@mail.fresnostate.edu
Most of our aerial photography collection and a small selection of our maps have been digitized. They are discoverable and linked to via our Map and Aerial Photography Locator Tool (MALT), which has map-based and location (e.g. address) search options.
Maps and atlases can be found via OneSearch (Books & Media search) and requested from within OneSearch by Fresno State students, staff, and faculty.
Some titles are very large sets of maps which don't have the individual sheets listed in OneSearch. If you need maps from sets like this, we will work with you to determine the specific sheets you need.
Many maps can be borrowed for use outside the library.
While walk-in access to the collection is currently not available, appointments for in-Library use may be made in advance.
