Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Map and Aerial Photograph Collections

Access as of June 21, 2021

While limited services and study areas in the Henry Madden Library building are currently available, our Research Help services remain virtual.

Our in-building services are mostly limited to picking up materials and tech lending devices that are requested online.

Please contact Carol Doyle with questions about the Map and Aerial Photograph collections: carol_doyle@csufresno.edu

See https://library.fresnostate.edu/COVID-19 for more information and links to the Library's virtual services.

In-person appointments during limited-services period

Overview

The map collection has worldwide coverage with a focus on California and the Central Valley.  Of special interest are our aerial photographs, primarily of Fresno County, which date back to 1937.  We also have large collections of atlases and gazetteers.  The core map collection consists of maps published by U.S. federal and California state agencies such as the US and California Geological Surveys, most of which are acquired through the U.S. and California depository library programs.

Our aerial photography collection and small selection of our maps have been digitized. They are discoverable and linked to via our Map and Aerial Photography Locator Tool (MALT), which has map-based and location (e.g. address) search options.

Maps and atlases can be found via OneSearch (Books & Media) and requested from within OneSearch by Fresno State students, staff, and faculty. Some titles are very large sets of maps which don't have the individual sheets listed in OneSearch. If you need maps from sets like this, we will work with you to determine the specific sheets you need.  Many maps can be borrowed for use outside the library.

While walk-in access to the collection is currently not available, appointments for in-Library use can be made in advance.

  • Please contact Carol Doyle with questions about the Map and Aerial Photograph collections: carol_doyle@csufresno.edu