Authors & Works (selected resources)
Selected Works: "Vivo sin vivir en mí"
Background / Biographical Information
The Gale Literature database is a great resource for this type of information. You will find several entries on Teresa de Jesus, including:
- "De Jesús, Teresa (1515-1582), An Introduction to." Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, edited by James E. Person, Jr., vol. 18, Gale, 1992. Gale Literature Criticism.
Books & eBooks
Link to books and articles under the subject heading Teresa de Jesús 1515-1582. Also see those with the subject heading Teresa, of Avila, Saint, 1515-1582.
- Slade, Carole. St. Teresa of Avila: Author of a Heroic Life. University of California Press, 1995.
- O’Reilly, Terence, et al. St Teresa of Ávila : Her Writings and Life. Legenda, 2018.
- Weber, Alison. Teresa of Avila and the Rhetoric of Femininity. Princeton University Press, 1990.
- Medwick, Cathleen. Teresa of Avila : the Progress of a Soul . 1st ed., Knopf, 1999.
Criticism
Link to books and articles under the subject heading Teresa de Jesús 1515-1582. Also see those with the subject heading Teresa, of Avila, Saint, 1515-1582.
- López, Josefina C. “‘Vivo Sin Vivir En Mí’: YouTube y La Poesía de Santa Teresa de Jesús.” Romance Quarterly, vol. 63, no. 1, Routledge, 2016, pp. 21–29, doi:10.1080/08831157.2016.1104217.
- Sáenz, Hilario S. “Notas a la glosa ‘Vivo sin vivir en mí’ de Santa Teresa y de San Juan de la Cruz.” Modern language quarterly (Seattle), vol. 13, 1952, p. 405–.
- Paddock, John A. B. “The Imagery of Fire, Water and Marriage in Saint Teresa of Ávila.” Bulletin of Spanish Studies (2002), vol. 92, no. 8-10, Routledge, 2015, pp. 91–124, doi:10.1080/14753820.2015.1131495.
Link to books and articles under the subject heading Teresa de Jesús 1515-1582. Also see those with the subject heading Teresa, of Avila, Saint, 1515-1582.
Online Resources
Search the author's name at the National Library of Spain's Hispanic Digital Library (freely available online) to find digitized primary source content. Use this link to access all of the works indexed under the author "Teresa de Jesús, Santa"
One example of what you can find there:
- Notes on the life, canonization and miracles of Saint Teresa of Jesus [Manuscript] / collected by fray José de la Encarnación novice master of the Discalced Carmelite Convents of Pastrana and Cartagena
Selected Works: "Novela del curioso impertinente" & "Novelas ejemplares"
Background / Biographical Information
The Gale Literature database is a great resource for this type of information. You will find many entries on Cervantes, including:
- "Cervantes, Miguel de (1547-1616), An Introduction to." Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, edited by James E. Person, Jr., vol. 6, Gale, 1987. Gale Literature Criticism
Books/eBooks
All books from the Library with the subject heading Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de 1547-1616
All books from the Library with the subject heading Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de, 1547-1616 Novelas ejemplares
Criticism
- Criticism from Gale Literature database on “El curioso impertinente”
- Criticism from Gale Literature database on “Novelas ejemplares”
- Quiñones Melgoza, José. “Reminiscencias de temas y autores clásicos grecolatinos en la ‘Novela del curioso impertinente’ (El Quijote, I, 33-35).” Nova tellus, vol. 25, no. 1, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Instituto de Investigaciones Filológicas, 2007, pp. 263–82, doi:10.19130/iifl.nt.2007.25.1.219.
- Andino Sánchez, Antonio de Padua. “El Curioso Impertinente o Cómo Escribir Novelas Según Cervantes.” Colindancias (Timișoara), no. 8, University of the West Timisoara Publishing House, 2017, pp. 61–82.
Online Resources for Digitized Primary Source Content
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes (Virtual Library of Miguel de Cervantes) freely available online
- National Library of Spain's Hispanic Digital Library (freely available online). Use this link to access all of the works indexed under the author "Cervantes Saavedra, Miguel de"
Selected Works: "Hombres necios"
Background / Biographical Information
The Gale Literature database is a great resource for this type of information. This page has biographical information on Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz.
Books/eBooks
All books from the Library with the subject heading "Juana Inés (de la Cruz)"
Criticism
- Books and articles from the Library on "Hombres necios"
- Criticism on Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz's work from the Gale Literature database.
- Results from the MLA database on "Hombres necios"
Online Resources
Search the author's name at the National Library of Spain's Hispanic Digital Library (freely available online) to find digitized primary source content. Use this link to access all of the works indexed under the author "Juana Inés de la Cruz, Sor"
Selected Works: Sonnets I, VIII, XI, and XXIII; Canción V
Background / Biographical Information
The Gale Literature database is a great resource for this type of information. There you will find several biographical resources on Garcilaso de la Vega.
Criticism
- Criticism from Gale Literature database on this author's works.
- Books and articles from the Library on Garcilaso de la Vega(1501/3-1536)
Online Resources
-
National Library of Spain's Hispanic Digital Library (freely available online). Use this link to access all of the works indexed under the author "Garcilaso de la Vega"
Selected Works: Soneto CLXVI, Letrilla XLVIII
Background / Biographical Information
The Gale Literature database is a great resource for this type of information. There you will find several biographical resources on Luis de Góngora.
Criticism
Criticism on this author's works from the Gale Literature database.
Online Resources
Selected Works: “Amor constante…,” “Retrato de Lisi,” “A un hombre de gran nariz,” and “Poderoso caballero es don Dinero”
Background / Biographical Information
Gale Literature database biographical entries on this author.
Criticism
Gale Literature database criticism on works by this author.
Online Resources
Selected Works: TBD which of her novellas from any of her two collections, "Novelas ejemplares y amorosas" and "Desengaños amorosos"
Background / Biographical Information
Gale Literature database biographical entries on this author.
Criticism
Gale Literature database articles of criticism of works by this author.
Online Resources
Websites & Online Archives (General)
Online Historical Resources
-
La Biblioteca Digital Hispánica (Hispanic Digital Library) from Biblioteca Nacional de España (National Library of Spain) provides free and open access to thousands of digitized documents, including books printed between the 15th and 20th centuries, manuscripts, drawings, prints, brochures, posters, photographs, maps, atlases, scores, historical press, and sound recordings.
-
España es Cultura (Spain is Culture) from the Ministry of Culture and Sport - focus is on the discovery of Spain's cultural heritage by location (towns and autonomous regions), time period, and theme. See the Baroque and Spanish Golden Age page.
-
Gran Enciclopedia de España (Great Encyclopedia of Spain) serves as a reference work for the cultural and historical heritage of Spain. Note: access is limited for free users (the library does not have a subscription).
-
Gran Enciclopedia Iberoamericana (Great Encyclopedia of Ibero-America) serves as a reference work for the cultural and historical heritage of Ibero-America. Note: access is limited for free users (the library does not have a subscription).
-
Portal de Archivos Españoles / Spanish Archives Portal (PARES), created and managed by the Ministry of Culture and Sports, contains descriptive files and digitized images of the documentary collections kept in the State Archives.
Research Guides and Portals
-
History of Spain: Primary Documents (EuroDocs) Created by a librarian at Brigham Young University (USA), includes links to online archives and digitized content on the history of Spain. Also includes a list of links specific to the Spanish Golden Age.
-
Iberian Studies: Spain, Portugal and their New World Colonies: Portals and Other Sources - Research Guide from the University of Pittsburgh Libraries
-
Spain Then and Now website created by retired university professors with links to content on the web to explore. Extensive discussion of art and literature, including pages on Golden Age Literature and on specific authors. Good resource for overview information and linking out to primary source content on the web.
Online Dictionaries & Linguistic Tools
-
Real Academia - Diccionario de la Lengua Española - The Dictionary of the Spanish language is produced by the Royal Spanish Academy (RAE) with participation of the Association of Academies of the Spanish Language. It was first published in 1780, and subsequent editions have been published about once a decade. The Dictionary was created to maintain the purity of the Spanish language.
Image Resourcees
-
Wikimedia Commons is a media repository of free-use images, sounds, other media. It is a project of the Wikimedia Foundation. As of March 2021, the repository contains over 70 million free-to-use media files, managed and editable by registered volunteers.
-
ArtStor Digital Library (Library database - sign in required) online resource of more than 2.5 million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Includes a set of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.