Welcome to the Library Research Guide!
This guide was created to help you with research in business and economics. I hope that you will find the information here useful. Check out the tabs in the left column to locate the information you need, or contact me if you don't find what you are looking for.
Business & Economics Librarian
California State University, Fresno
ReferenceUSA (Database) has been renamed to Data Axle Reference Solutions.
Data Axle Reference Solutions includes databases of current U.S. and Canadian businesses, historical business records, U.S. residents, and consumer lifestyle profiles.
RIA Checkpoint (Database) has been upgraded to Checkpoint Edge.
Thomson Reuters' Checkpoint Edge provides access to a variety of RIA tax products and federal documentation. It contains federal and state tax law and regulations including interpretations and commentary.
We are pleased to announce that the Fresno State Library now subscribes to the following databases/resources:
PrivCo offers detailed data on US-based, non-publicly traded corporations, including family-owned, private equity-owned, and venture-backed companies. Its advanced search capacity allows users to conduct in-depth company, investor, M&A, venture capital funding, and private equity research.
Business Source Ultimate (Database) - As an upgrade of the Business Source Complete database, Business Source Ultimate offers more comprehensive full-text access of journals published in business disciplines, including management, marketing, finance, accounting, and economics.
Mergent Intellect (Database)
Mergent Intellect provides information about more than 310 million businesses globally (including 70 million in the U.S.), 90 million executives, 900 industry segments, and over 250 North American residents. Unlike many other business databases that primarily focus on public companies, Mergent Intellect focuses more on private companies. Company profiles include basic company details (e.g., address, industry, number of employees), industry details, information about key executives, and a list of companies that are affiliated.
Gale's Business Plans Handbooks offer actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Sample plans are from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries, which serve as examples of how to approach, structure, and compose business plans.
Earlier volumes are also available either online or in print:
Business Plans Handbook, vol. 1-11 (Website)
Business Plans Handbook, vol.12 (Book in print)
Find Library Materials
Search books, journals, and other library materials from the main search box on the library home page. Write down or take a photo of the call number (e.g., HG1616 B7 L86) and location (e.g., Lower Level, Reference, etc.) to find the item on the shelf.
Need a Textbook? Check if your professor reserved course materials on reserve at the Circulation Desk.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Services
Request books and other library materials not owned by the Fresno State Library through CSU+ and ILLiad to obtain them from other CSU libraries or libraries statewide, nationally, and internationally.
Online Library Tutorials
Library tutorials are available in Canvas and give an overview of library services as well as how to search the library catalog and databases.
Library equipment such as laptops, iPads/tablets, flip video cameras, and headphones is available for checkout.
Group/Individual Study Rooms
Reserve a study room located on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors of the Library. Contact Circulation Desk at (559) 278-2551 for more information.
Printing, Copying & Scanning on Campus
Pay for Print System allows Fresno State students, employees, and guests to print from anywhere on-campus, even from your own computer using our wireless network.
Need Help? Ask!