Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, open source citation manager that can help you organize your research sources and properly format your paper.

Use Zotero with your word processor

Zotero integrates with your word processor to help create properly formatted citations and bibliographies using the items in your library. Remember that getting these right depends on having the information entered correctly! You'll still have to know your citation style so you can  check the results from Zotero, as with any citation manager. An overview of how to use Zotero in your documents follows. For a more complete guide, see these documents from Zotero support:

Installation

If you've installed Zotero and the Zotero Connector, integration with your word processor should already be set up!

A Zotero plug-in for Word is installed with the Zotero program. If you need to re-install it for any reason, you can do so from the Zotero preferences window.

Zotero support for Google Docs is installed to your browser with the Zotero Connector. The first time you use any Zotero feature, you will be prompted to authorize the Zotero Connector to access your Google account.

In Word, the plugin adds a Zotero tab. In Google Docs, the Connector adds a Zotero menu and a toolbar button for add citations.

Word Google Docs
Zotero tab in MS Word

Zotero menu and icon in Google Docs

They look different, but both offer access to the main features you will use:

  • Add/Edit Citation
  • Add/Edit Bibliography
  • Document Preferences
  • Refresh
  • Unlink Citations

Zotero Document Preferences

When starting a new document, the Document Preferences might be the first Zotero feature you will use.

Citation Styles

Zotero Document Preferences windowThe most important preference is the citation style! Zotero comes with many popular citation styles already installed. Thousands more styles are available through the Zotero Style Repository, and can be added with a few clicks.

Styles provided by the Henry Madden Library

The library can attempt to create citation styles for Zotero if a suitable style is not available. Be sure to check your results with these, they may not support all item types.

Journal Abbreviations

For citation styles that use abbreviated journal titles, Zotero can abbreviate them automatically in Index Medicus/MEDLINE format. If the option for automatic abbreviations is not set, Zotero will use the "Journal Abbr." information entered with each item in your library

 

More on Journal Abbreviations

Many citation styles require journal title abbreviations.

Usually the style guide will specify where to find approved abbreviations.

Medical
Zotero has the Medline (NLM/PubMed) journal abbreviations list.
When selecting your citation style in Google Docs of Word's Document Preferences, check the Use MEDLINE abbreviations option.
Zotero MEDLINE journal abbreviations
                
         
If your style calls for other sources of journal abbreviations, don't select the option for automatic abbreviations from MEDLINE.
Zotero will use the "Journal Abbr." information entered with each item in your library.

Common sources to find journal abbreviations:

Chemistry    CASSI Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index

IEEE     IEEE Reference Guide (pdf)  Version 08.19.2020 abbreviations start on page 20

ASCE    Science and Engineering Journal Abbreviations (Woodward Library, University of British Columbia)
               • secondarily, use the List of Title Word Abbreviations (LTWA) ISSN International Centre

Other Abbreviation Lists Sometimes Specified
   • Web of Science Journal Title Abbreviations
   • Journal Abbreviation Sources (All That JAS)

Once you find the appropriate abbreviation, go to the reference in Zotero and type it in the Journal Abbr field
Put periods after each abbreviated word: Zotero will take them out if your style doesn't use them
Zotero journal abbr field

Add/Edit Citation or Bibliography

Zotero citation dialogAdd/Edit Citation

Choosing "Add/Edit Citation' will bring up a dialog box which you can use to choose an item from your library to cite. Sometimes this window pops up behind your document, so if it seems like nothing's happening, try minimizing your document or cycling through your open windows to find it.

Type an author name or other keywords to search for items from your library, then choose the one you wish to cite. You can add more than one item in the dialog to cite multiple items.

Zotero advanced citation featuresClick on an item in the citation dialog to customize it. You can add page numbers if required by your citation style, suppress the author name (if it appears earlier in the sentence, for example), or add prefix or suffix text such as "c.f." or "see also."

Add/Edit Bibliography

Choosing "Add/Edit Bibliography" does just what it says--it creates a bibliography at the cursor location that includes all the items cited in the document. You can choose it again to edit the bibliography, either to add sources that aren't cited, or to remove items (such as personal communications) that are cited but shouldn't appear in the reference list.

Refresh and Unlink Citations

Refresh

"Refresh" updates all the citations and bibliographies in your document with the current information in your Zotero library. If you find errors or omissions in your item data while you are writing, correct the data in your library, then choose Refresh to update your document. There is a setting in the Document Preferences to refresh automatically, but this may slow down Zotero's performance.

Unlink Citations

"Unlink Citations" converts all the citations and bibliographies in your document to normal text, removing the connection to your Zotero library. Normally you would do this as a final step before submitting your document to someone else--make a copy of your document, unlink the citations in the copy, and submit the unlinked copy.