Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industrial Technology Masters Program

FInding Journal Articles and more

Ways to Find Journal Articles
madden library


1. Use Library Databases

The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles

♦  Some article databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate, index articles in magazines
   and newspapers as well as articles in scholarly journals,
   but offer ways to l
imit your search results to scholarly journals.

♦  Like Academic Search Ultimate,  Web of Science is multidisciplinary, but indexes only scholarly
    journals as well as books and conference proceedings.

♦  Discipline-specific databases, such as BIOSIS, PubMed, CABAbstracts, Zoological Record, and SciFinder
   take a broader view of scholarly/professional literature and also index publications types such as
   dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
   Most of these databases will allow you to
limit your results to only journal articles.

2. Use Google Scholar

Indexes a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.

Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.

3. Use a Known Item 

 Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from the works cited section.

 Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item. Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Ultimate [EBSCO]
Index to news, magazines, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.

Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
Citations from the most prestigious, high impact research journals..
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

Key Industrial Technology Databases

Agricola  (EBSCO)
Material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and books, but include other type of resources.

Business Source Premier & Ultimate  (EBSCO)
All areas of business, including marketing, in scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.

CAB Abstracts  (EBSCO)
International coverage of agriculture and allied life and applied sciences. Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.

Education Research Complete  (EBSCO)
Scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.

Engineering Village (Compendex Database)
All areas of engineering.  Citations to journal articles, technical reports, conference papers and proceedings, standards, and more.

FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts  (EBSCO) ***2 simultaneous users***
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.

IEEE Xplore
Full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Contains full text documents from IEEE and IET journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, and standards.

Google Scholar (with Fresno State library access links)
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.  Also includes patents.