Health Literacy
- AHRQ Health Literacy Universal Precautions Toolkit
This Toolkit offers evidence-based guidance to help healthcare providers make health information easier to understand and act on, make healthcare easier to navigate, and increase support for patients of all health literacy levels. - AHRQ Static Teach-back Learning Module (PDF)This teach-back learning module is designed to inform clinicians about the teach-back method and
provide effective strategies to implement teach-back. Teach-back engages patients (and families) and ensures their clear understanding of what they need to know for improved patient safety and outcomes. - Everyday Words for Public Health Communication
It offers expert recommendations from CDC's Health Literacy Council and other agency communicators on how to reduce jargon and improve readers' understanding. You can search for public health jargon or plain language words and find alternatives and example sentences. - Plain Language Thesaurus for Health Communications
Provided by the CDC's National Center for Health Marketing. This thesaurus offers plain language equivalents to medical terms, phrases, and references that we often use. - Federal Plain Language Guidelines
The official guidelines for the Plain Writing Act of 2010, to help you and your agency write clearly. - NIAID HIV Language GuideNIAID is making every effort to eliminate the use of stigmatizing terminology and advance the use of person-first, inclusive, and respectful language. The NIAID HIV Language Guide has relevance beyond HIV. It includes language related to other areas of research, diseases and conditions, gender and sexuality, general research terminology, and more.
- SAM (Suitability Assessment of Materials)SAM instrument offers a systematic method to objectively assess the suitability of health information materials for a particular audience in a short time.
Community Health
- Toolkit: How Early Care and Education Providers Can Help Keep Children Up-to-Date on Vaccinations
This toolkit from the Public Health Foundation details five evidence-based strategies early care and education providers can implement to strengthen pediatric vaccination coverage. Resources can be downloaded, adapted, and shared with your program or community. The toolkit includes parent and guardian handouts, communication materials such as newsletter blurbs and social media content, conversation guides, and off-site vaccination information. - Toolkit: Understanding Disabilities in American Indian & Alaska Native Communities
The toolkit is divided into dedicated sections for healthy living, education, independent living, vocational rehabilitation and employment resources, assistive technology, housing and facilities, and transportation. - Partnering for Stronger Programming: A Toolkit for Libraries
The toolkit provides five tools for library workers with actionable steps to help partnerships grow sustainably, meet goals, expand organizational capacity, thoughtfully engage with partner audiences, and more. The five different tools can be used individually or in combination. - Rural Chronic Disease Management ToolkitThe toolkit compiles evidence-based and promising models and resources to support the implementation of chronic disease management programs in rural communities across the United States. The modules in this toolkit contain resources and information focused on developing, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining rural programs for the management of chronic disease.
- Health Equity Forum PodcastThe FDA Office of Minority Health and Health Equity Forum podcast series is a platform for experts to come together and have meaningful conversations around health topics that impact the lives and well-being of diverse communities. The series will also help to raise awareness about health issues and disparities impacting the health of diverse populations including minority consumers/patients and spark conversations of your own.
- Elder Justice: Tribal Elder Protection Team ToolkitThe toolkit is designed to help identify and implement a tribal Elder protection team. The toolkit is made up of several sections. Each section contains information that concentrates on different aspects of developing a tribal Elder protection team.
- Indian Health ServiceIndian Health Service promotes an interdisciplinary approach to promote and provide for community health.
- Sesame Street Fire Safety Program for Preschool ChildrenThe program shows educators how to empower children ages 3 to 5 with essential fire safety information and skills that can make a big difference in case of an emergency.
- Fat Acceptance Brochures and Tool KitsNational Association to Advance Fat Acceptance works to stop size discrimination through education, advocacy and support.
- Rural Response to Farmer Mental Health and Suicide PreventionIn response to this rising mental health crisis in farming communities, it is designed to provide information about federal, state, and nonprofit resources and promising programs in rural communities that are addressing mental health needs in these populations. It also includes sections about key organizations working on mental health and agriculture issues and stakeholders who may be positioned to offer support to farmers and their families.
- PRIDEnetPRIDEnet is a national network dedicated to strengthening the involvement of LGBTQIA+ people in health research. A project of Stanford University School of Medicine in partnership with the University of California, San Francisco, PRIDEnet’s footprint spans the country and includes partner organizations, community groups, and research properties.
- Caregiver ToolboxIt provides a variety of resources to help all caregivers (not just family). Topics include finances, Medicare, poor appetites, and lots more.
Multi-languages
- Minority Mental Health Awareness (in Spanish)
Use estos recursos para compartir información sobre la salud mental con las comunidades de habla hispana. - WildfiresWildfires are becoming more frequent and Ready.gov has resources with information in multiple languages to help you and your communities to keep safe.
- Dietary Supplements (in Spanish)Hojas informativas sobre ingredientes específicos de los suplementos dietéticos (Fact Sheets on Individual Dietary Supplement Ingredients)
Evidence Resources
- Evidence & Resource Library
The SIREN Evidence & Resource Library has expanded to include both peer-reviewed publications and other types of resources such as webinars and screening tools/toolkits on medical and social care integration.
Misinformation and Disinformation
- Playbook for Addressing Health Misinformation, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security
A guide to help users prepare for and respond to health misinformation. The playbook takes a hands-on approach to help public health practitioners, medical professionals, and health communicators recognize and respond to health-related rumors and misinformation. It provides detailed tools, checklists, templates, and examples written in plain language.
Educational Resources
- The Human Body: Bones, Joints, Muscles, and Skin
NIAMS offers science-based classroom materials and activities for teachers to build accurate, age-appropriate lesson plans about bones, joints, muscles, and skin for students in grades 4, 5, and 6.