Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Plant 105 - Food, Society, and Environment

Finding Scholarly Articles

1. Use Library Databases

The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles

Academic Search Complete indexes articles in magazines and newspapers as well as articles in scholarly journals.
  It lets you
limit your search results to scholarly journals.

The discipline-specific databases (AGRICOLA, CABAbstracts, CINAHL, FSTA, and BIOSIS) take a broader view of scholarly/professional literature and also index publications types such as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and technical reports.
These databases will allow you to
limit your search results to only scholarly journals.

Web of Science only indexes scholarly journals.
 

2. Use Google Scholar

Indexes a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.

Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals.

Follow Find It @ FresnoState to locate material cited in these databases

Academic Search Complete
Index to news magazines and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
   • Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals

Agricola   (1970-    )
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and books, but include other type of resources.
 • Limit your search results to academic journals

CAB Abstracts (1973-     ) 
International coverage of agriculture, environmental sciences, food & nutrition, etc.
Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
Limit your search results to academic journals

CINAHL (Nursing and Allied Health) (1937-  )
Good source for articles on nutrition.
Limit your search results to academic journals

FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts   (1969-     )  ***one user at a time***
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition. Covers all the major food commodities, biotechnology and microbiology, as well as food safety, additives, nutrition, packaging and pet foods. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.

BIOSIS Citation Index /Web of Knowledge  (1926-     )
Citations with abstracts to worldwide biological and medical literature. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.

Web of Science  1980-
Multidisciplinary. Citations from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.

Databases by Subject

All Databases A-Z

Did you get very little or too much from your search?

To get more

Use * for alternate word endings
        e.g.,   sustainab* retrieves sustainable, sustainability etc.

Use the different search lines to enter key words (not sentences) describing the different components of your search topic

Redo your search adding new keywords you find in article abstracts and subject terms given to the articles by the database

Use or between synonyms or alternate concepts
        e.g.,    greenhouse gases* or ghg* or carbon dioxide

Use fewer search terms. Each time you put in another search term (unless they are synonyms combined with or) you will get fewer results. Start with a small number of keywords and then add more terms or try different terms based on your results.

 

To get less

Use quotation marks around words you want searched as a phrase
e.g.,  "greenhouse gases"

Databases usually offer ways to Limit or Refine your search results, such as:
   To Scholarly/Peer-reviewed journals
   By publication date range
   To journal articles only (or books, dissertations, etc)

Some databases also have specific limits, such as:
   Methodology
   Age Groups
   Gender

Add more search terms:
    Each time you put in another search term, you will retrieve fewer results.
    Start with a small number of keywords and then add more terms or try different terms based on your results.
    Use the different search lines to enter more  key words (not sentences) describing the different components of your topic
    In the articles that are good, look for other for terms used in title, abstract, and subjects in that seem to focus on your interest

GoogleScholar through the campus proxy

USe Google Scholar to find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

How do I get the article without paying? Is it scholarly/peer reviewed?

If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
      it will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.

If you don't know if the article is in a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal, use the Find It @ Fresno State link:
   it links to Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory so you can see if the journal is scholarly/academic and peer-reviewed
   (Ulrich's calls peer-review refereed).

To get  Find It @ Fresno State to appear in Google Scholar:
Either go to GoogleScholar through the campus proxy
Or, in Google Scholar:
     1. Click Scholar Settings
     2. Type fresno in the  Library Links box and click <Find Library>
     3. Select CSU Fresno - Find It at Fresno State
     4. Click  Save
  (you might need to click on More to see the Find It @ option in Google Scholar's list of citations)