The Library subscribes to many databases that have or link to scholarly articles
♦ Multidisciplinary databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate and Web of Science Core Collection
These index articles in scholarly journals as well as other types of publications.
You can limit your search results to only journal articles.
♦ Discipline-specific databases, such as CAB Abstracts, CINAHL, FSTA, Education Research Complete,
PubMed, BIOSIS, and SciFinder-n, take broader views of scholarly/professional literature
and also index publications types such as dissertations, books and book chapters, conference proceedings,
and technical reports.
Most of these databases will allow you to limit your search results to only scholarly journals.
♦ Find a variety of publication types including scholarly journal articles.
♦ Does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals, so pay attention to what you have retrieved.
♦ Look backwards in the literature by looking up references from a publication's works cited section.
♦ Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item.
Web of Science databases, Google Scholar, and some other databases and publisher websites give you Cited By references
(the ones they see in their own universes) so you can identify more recent articles that cited the one you like.
Index to news, trade and popular magazines, and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subjects.
♦ Limit your search to scholarly journals by checking the box: Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
Multidisciplinary & very current.
Citations from ~8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Also provides cited reference searching: navigate forward and backward through the literature from a specific article.
♦ Quick Reference Guide
ABI/Inform Global [ProQuest]
Business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. Includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
Agricola [Ebsco]
Covers material acquired by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and cooperating institutions in the agricultural and related sciences. Citations are primarily to journal articles and book chapters, but include other type of resources.
Business Source Ultimate [Ebsco]
All areas of business, including marketing, in scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines.
• You can limit your search to scholarly journals
CAB Abstracts [Ebsco]
International coverage of agriculture, forestry, and allied life and applied sciences, including policy. Citations to journal articles, books, conference papers, and reports.
EconLit [Ebsco]
References to economics literature including journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers.
FSTA: Food Science and Technology Abstracts [Ebsco]
International coverage of food science, food technology and nutrition, including policy. Publication types include journal articles, patents, reviews, standards, books, reports and conference proceedings.
• You can limit your search results to academic journals
NAL SEARCH - National Agricultural Library
All aspects of agriculture and related disciplines, SEARCH Everything for results from the Catalog and Articles database (AGRICOLA), PubAg, and the NAL Digital Collections (NALDC), or limit your search to specific collections.
♦ NAL SEARCH is not linked to what is available via Fresno State Library.
If the item isn't Open Access, search for it by title in OneSearchPAIS Index [Proquest]
PAIS Index [Proquest]
Indexes books, journals, policy group papers, some government publications on topics related to public policy.
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Also includes patents.
If Google Scholar's links don't get you to the article text or you are asked to pay for the article, use the Find It @ Fresno State link. It will connect to our e-subscriptions, catalog, and our Interlibrary Loan form.
If the Find It @ Fresno State link does not appear, click on the 
double arrow on the end of the last row of the reference entry.
Use * for alternate word endings:
farm* retrieves farm, farming, farmland, etc.
Use and between words unless you are searching a phrase:
dairy cooperatives and marketing
Use quotation marks around words to search them as a phrase
"dairy cooperatives"