Topographic Maps
Topographic Map Symbols: What is a Topographic Map? USGS National Mapping Information
Characteristics of a topographic map, how to read a topographic map, and the symbols used.
Topographic map symbols. USGS
4-page pdf.
USGS Topographic Map Symbols
Gif images of an older 2-page USGS pamphlet.
We also have keys to topo map symbols at the Maps Desk
Index Maps
Index maps show the arrangement, names, and area of coverage of individual maps (quadrangles) within a set (e.g., 1:24,000, 1:250,000 and 100,000 metric).
Ask at the Maps desk for the index maps.
USGS Map Store
Find and order the most recent editions of maps currently available from the USGS.
• Select series (e.g., 1:24,000 - 7.5 Minute) or coverage area to browse lists of maps;
• or search by keyword
OR USGS Map Store Map Locator
Locate, view, download or purchase historical and current topo maps through a map-based search
Search Domestic names via the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
The GNIS is a database of physical and cultural geographic features in the United States.
Search for a place or feature name and display the full record to get a list of USGS 7.5-minute quads on which the feature is shown.
California's Geographic Names: a Gazetteer of Historic and Modern Names of the State.
1st floor, Maps Reference F 859 .D87 1998
Gives the 7.5- or 15-minute quad name for many locations.
Map Index to Topographic Quadrangles of the United States, 1882-1940.
1st floor, Maps Reference f GA 405 .M64 1985
Ask for them by name of the quad (e.g., Fresno North)
Scales include 1:24,000, 1:62,500, 1:31,680, 1:125,000 and 1:250,000.
• United States at 1:1,000,000, 1:250,000 and 1:100,000
• Current 1:24,000 (7.5') quadrangles for 19 western states (North Dakota to Texas and west)
• 1:62,500 (15') quadrangles for several states;
• Mexico: large scale series
• U.S. Defense Mapping Agency/Army Map Service:
WWII-era maps of many areas of the world
USGS Topographic maps show elevation (contour lines), hydrography, geographic place names, and a variety of cultural features.
Current-generation topographic maps are created from digital GIS databases, and are branded "US Topo."
Historic maps originally published as paper documents in the period 1884-2006 are available as scanned images.
Historical USGS 1:31,680 Topos of California in the Library's Digitized Collections
Digitized from the Library's map collection.
Find specific locations using a map-based search via our Map & Aerial Locator Tool, or names of needed map sheets on this index map
USGS Historical Topo Maps
• USGS Store: Map Locator
Locate, view, download (free), or purchase historical and current
maps through a place name and map-based search
• TopoVIew USGS
Maps "... from the USGS’s US Topo series and earlier Historical Topographic Map Collection (HTMC).
Offers a selection of download formats.
United States Historical Topographic Maps (1881-1945). Perry-Castañeda Library, University of Texas at Austin
♦ California historical topo maps (USGS)
Pre-1945 maps, scales 1:24,000, 1:31,680, 1:62,500, 1:125,000 and special sheets at other scales
♦ Links to US topographic maps on other web sites
The Map Collection has historical quadrangles for California.
Ask for them by name of the quad (e.g., Fresno North)
Scales include 1:24,000, 1:62,500, 1:31,680, 1:125,000 and 1:250,000.
How do I find name of the quadrangle I need?
Index maps show the arrangement, names, and area of coverage of individual maps (quadrangles) within a set.
Index Maps to California Topos (we also have these index maps at the Maps desk.)
♦ Index Map to 1:31,680 scale maps sheets
♦ Index Maps to 1:24,000, 1:250,000 and 100,000 metric scales:
(right click to open the image in a new tab, then zoom to find the sheet name,)
California north half |
California south half |
Search Domestic names via the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
Search for a place or feature name and display the full record to get a list of USGS 7.5-minute quads on which the feature is shown.